Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I love making cheesecakes and this one is delicious and creamy. I do have a little problem when making this though...it always runs over the top of the pan. So I bought a 10 inch springform and it still ran over! I always do my cheesecakes in a water bath so at least it doesn't mess up my oven but it doesn't "look" pretty. I think my oven cooks too hot so I will try to lower the temp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was the first cheesecake I have ever made, and it was EXCELLENT!(Even people that say the don't like cheescake loved it). The only thing I did was to omit the amaretto because I was bringing it to an office colleagues birthday party. I made it in a heart shaped springform pan and followed the directions EXACTLY. I baked it the night before, so after it had sat in the oven with the door open, I refrigerated it overnight, and it came out great! I also made a mixed berry sauce to go over the top! Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I have made this recipe a few times now for co-workers and at home. All of us thought it was terrific. I am almost commanded to make this for any work function now, they liked it that much. If I were single, I believe I could woo women with the power of this cheesecake alone. It's that good. A few prep notes--I have two "9 inch" springform pans, one is slightly larger--use a slightly larger pan, this fills it quite well. Also, I have found it best to refrigerate this overnight before serving it. The texture is better after being completely cooled. I also like to drizzle chocolate ganache on the top. Once when the top was a little over done, I covered it in ganache, just as or maybe even MORE yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
CAN'T MAKE IT OFTEN ENOUGH IT GOES SO FAST! BEST I've EVER HAD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This was the best cheesecake I've ever made. I went sugar free and used Splenda and not one person that tried it coould tell. I plan on using this recipe every time I want cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I'm rating this the best even though I had some problems. It has a wonderful flavor. I didn't use the amaretto, just vanilla. But mine wouldn't get done. It was way too jiggly at the set time. It also puffed out over the sides of the pan so I think next time I'll try a 10 inch pan. When it cooled the edges tore off, but I made it look alright by adding a whipped cream edge and strawberry sauce on top. I will definitely use this recipe again and try to make it turn out right the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was my first cheesecake, I followed the recipe eaxctly, but the cake came out very moist and soft. What could be the reason? Maybe I should leave it in the refrigerator longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is a really good cheesecake. The Amaretto adds a flavor that is so different. I've baked this for Holiday's and for different dinner parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Excellent 5-STAR cheesecake! I also tried this recipe using 1/2 cup of Baily's Irish Cream instead of the amaretto and cut the butter down to only 1 cup, it was "sin-sational" also! Only difference in cooking method was that I preheated oven to 200 degrees and cooked it for 2 hours in hot water bath until done. All in all, and excellent, rich & creamy cheesecake... you can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This recipe was incredible! It was so rich and creamy and adding the ammareto is a must as it adds such a different type of taste compared to just lemon zest. WARNING: Is very expensive to make, but well worth it for a special birthday or dinner party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States