Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Wow! I haven't made a cheesecake in decades. But I needed a low-carb dessert for a friends birthday. Being crustless this started off good. I substituted splenda for 1 1/2 cups of the sugar, using regular sugar for 1/4 cup. I also used half neufchatel and half regular cream cheese and light sour cream. I didn't add the amaretto as some people don't like almond, but added another tsp of vanilla. OMG it was so creamy it was fantastic. I also used these other tips from previous reviews. Instead of the water bath I put a glass baking dish with warm water directly under the springform pan. It did not crack. I still wrapped it in foil to keep it from dripping. And I lined the bottom and sides with parchment. The side parchment probably kept it from going over the sides. It makes a LARGE cheesecake. I will definitely be making this again. It's also a great gluten free recipe for my mother-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
very good cheesecake favorite of cheesecake lovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Absolutely Fantastic!! Made this for Easter and got rave reviews.. I will be making this again for Mothers Day. This is now a family favorite!! Thank you so much for your great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy_in_ND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe. I used an 11" spring form pan and it worked out just fine. It rose above the pan while cooking but settled back in after cooling in the oven. I plan to use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a EXCELLENT recipe! I have made this cheesecake at least 10 times. Always turns out perfect, I just use extra Vanilla instead of Amaretto....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I have made alot of cheesecakes in the past 25 years. I looked at the reviews for this cheesecake before hand and decided to try it. I did not care for it at all. The basic flavor was not what it should be. The texture also was too light, almost like a dense mousse. and not having a crust made it too plain tasting, nothing to contrast the filling with another texture and flavor. I would not recomend this dessert to anyone that wants an impressive tasting cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie guy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent texture, flavor superb !! Thank you so much for sharing. This is THE cheese cake recipe! I followed the recipe as directed and had perfect outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
this cheesecake is outstanding. when i made it i was told it was devine and heavenly. i was already asked to make it for a birthday-instead of a regular cake kudos to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neenah

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Seriously the best cheese cake I have ever made. I did exactly as the recipe stated and it was awesome! My family loved it. I'll be making this again! One thing, definitely not a low calorie dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
WOW!! This was a great recipe. This was my first attempt at a cheesecake and it was a huge success. I made it for Chrismas with my family and everyone loved it. I did omit the liqueur and vanilla as I wanted a taste as true to NY style as possible, and it was. I didn't have any cracks or problems with the firmness of the cake. I did read the cheesecake tips given here and found them very helpful. Some of the things I did were: 1. all ingreds at room temp., I actually worked the day I make the cheesecake and let the ingreds. sit out for 6 hours prior. 2. I lined my springform pan with parchment paper, I think this helped with the final look and cleanliness. 3. After I foiled the bottom of my springform pan I also placed it in an oversized roasting bag before filling the pan with batter and placing it into a large aluminum roasting pan in a water bath. I purchased a large disposable aluminum roasting pan from walmart for about $2. In addition to these step I did also follow the tips for chessecakes listed here on the recipe page. For my topping, I made a cherry topping from scratch found on Epicurious. Hope this helps and you come out with a fantasitc cheesecake also! Thanks Eric for the recipe, I'm sure it will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETCHEN24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States