Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I have made alot of cheesecakes in the past 25 years. I looked at the reviews for this cheesecake before hand and decided to try it. I did not care for it at all. The basic flavor was not what it should be. The texture also was too light, almost like a dense mousse. and not having a crust made it too plain tasting, nothing to contrast the filling with another texture and flavor. I would not recomend this dessert to anyone that wants an impressive tasting cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie guy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent texture, flavor superb !! Thank you so much for sharing. This is THE cheese cake recipe! I followed the recipe as directed and had perfect outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
this cheesecake is outstanding. when i made it i was told it was devine and heavenly. i was already asked to make it for a birthday-instead of a regular cake kudos to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neenah

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Seriously the best cheese cake I have ever made. I did exactly as the recipe stated and it was awesome! My family loved it. I'll be making this again! One thing, definitely not a low calorie dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
WOW!! This was a great recipe. This was my first attempt at a cheesecake and it was a huge success. I made it for Chrismas with my family and everyone loved it. I did omit the liqueur and vanilla as I wanted a taste as true to NY style as possible, and it was. I didn't have any cracks or problems with the firmness of the cake. I did read the cheesecake tips given here and found them very helpful. Some of the things I did were: 1. all ingreds at room temp., I actually worked the day I make the cheesecake and let the ingreds. sit out for 6 hours prior. 2. I lined my springform pan with parchment paper, I think this helped with the final look and cleanliness. 3. After I foiled the bottom of my springform pan I also placed it in an oversized roasting bag before filling the pan with batter and placing it into a large aluminum roasting pan in a water bath. I purchased a large disposable aluminum roasting pan from walmart for about $2. In addition to these step I did also follow the tips for chessecakes listed here on the recipe page. For my topping, I made a cherry topping from scratch found on Epicurious. Hope this helps and you come out with a fantasitc cheesecake also! Thanks Eric for the recipe, I'm sure it will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETCHEN24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Ok another added note. I too had problems with it rising over the top If you take a piece of parchment and line the inside of the pan sides, but somewhat higher, it won't go over the sides and your sides will be clean when you peel the paper off. I only gave it 4 stars because 70 min. is not enough time to bake. Even after being refrigerated over night and even into the next day, it was to underdone in the center. Probably needs to cook about 10-15 min. longer. Don't forget it is supposed to jiggle in the center when done. It firms as it cools. It also finishes cooking with residual heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I am rating this 5 star.. I have recently moved to Sweden the land without cheesecake and after much searching and creating.. THIS was the best one I could make. I have made it for 3 special occasions now and received rave reviews.. It is NOT for the amateur baker and is time consuming. But if you want to have something special it is well worth it.. :) I melted some dark chocolate and drizzled it over the top with halved strawberries for Midsummer to add some decor to it.. :) You know that its good when people mention it a few times to you even days after you have served it hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
The best cheesecake ever. I have made and served this too many people and gave it away as gifts I always get complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Best crustless cheesecake I've ever had [I don't like crusts, so this took me a while to find]. Super creamy, not too sweet [as most commercial cheesecakes are these days], just fantastic. My husband and mother loved it as well. They both enjoyed the texture, saying it was light without being too fluffy, firm without being too rich. I subbed the cream with extra sour cream, and the amaretto with extra vanilla. I baked it for 60 minutes, let it sit in the open oven for 60 minutes, and chilled in the fridge for about 17 hours [I made it at night and we tried it with lunch the next day]. The top edge burned a tiny bit, but my oven is awful, so the problem was most likely on my end. I cut off the burnt part and put cherry pie filling on top -- it didn't *need* it, but my tasters prefer cheesecake with cherries. Overall, a terrific recipe that I'll make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by creolepaul1975
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great recipe, I suggest you let it sit for 24 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creolepaul1975

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States