Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This cheese cake was the first one I've ever tried to make and it came out fabulous. Great instructions! Followed everything exactly and what I got was a FANTASTIC dessert. I even had a comment from someone that they don't typically like cheesecake and they really liked this one. All the tips worked great. One thing I am going to try for next time, in order to make sure that no water gets thru the spring form pan, I'm going to first put a plastic roasting bag around the bottom then cover with foil. Thank you for a very good cheesecake recipe, I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Was the 9" supposed to be the height of the springform pan?! I was suspicious when I started but carried on to a cheese cake that overflowed the pan when cooked by 3 or 4 inches and the sides fell off and the top was dark brown. No resemblance to the recipe illustration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I started making this recipe with the adjustments about 4 years ago and now it has become a part of every holiday meal. My daughter even wants a variation of this at her wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
OMG yes yes yes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denise4646c

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent cheesecake. My husband is on a gluten free diet and this has no crust. I was about 4 ounces short of the cream cheese required so I substituted with a little ricotta cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmersmarketcook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
The cheesecake was great. Def worth the time! After looking at other reviews, I used a 10" round pan ( 4" tall ). Baked in a water bath at 300F. for 1 hour and an additional hour at 275F. Total baked time was about 2 hours. Versitile recipe. I added toasted sliced almonds in the cheesecake and used an almond chocolate crust. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a very yummy not to heavy but not to light cheesecake. I did make a couple of changes (I know I hate when I read that in a reiview but keep reading) I split the batter into 2 nine inch bunt pans since so many people said that they had problems with it over flowing. I did use the water bath method and cooked it at 325 for 90 min as some of the other reviewers recommended. Lastly I swirled a 1/2 cup of sour cream on top before popping it in the oven trying to recreate a childhood memory. I loved it and had quite a few people ask for the recipe! Oh and I used homemade vanilla instead of the Armaretto like many of the reivews said as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
The best cheesecake I have made. Great recipe and really just like New York Cheesecake :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe makes almost twice what you need. It will bubble over the edge if you make it in the proportions the recipe lists. I put a crust on the bottom and cut it in half. You also don't need to go to the trouble of wrapping the pan in foil and doing a bath. If you take a cookie sheet and fill it with water it provides enough humidity to keep it from cracking. Cook it for the first 20 minutes on the 375 listed, but after 20 minutes turn it down to 325. It will burn on top if you cook it for a full hour on 375. Make sure to let it cool in the oven or else it will not come out flat on top. (I personally like to double the amaretto.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was my first cheese cake, so I read a lot of reviews. I baked mine at 275 for about 3 !/2 hours, I know this may seem like a long time for a cheese cake but it never burned and came out perfect. I didnt use a water bath and the cake never split. This was a huge hit in my faMILY, who were very skeptical AT MY COOKING ABILITY. I did have a little batter left over and tried not to fill the 9 inch cake pan too much because it did rise about 1/2 inch. If I can make a cheese cake to die for any one can! Just be patient and lower the heat and cook a little longer and you too will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States