Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I have made a similar version for 20 + years. One can of cream of mushroom soup with 1 can of french onion soup - along with potatoes, carrots, garlic, celery. I do brown the roast prior to cooking. I usually put the roast in the oven (with lid) rather than cook it in a slow cooker but either way is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I add 1 can cream of celery soup & 1 can of french onion soup + a generous tsp. of thyme. Skip the mushroom soup. My family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I have done roasts basically this way for years and they always turn out great. Someone mentioned about "an odd taste that a few in the family did not like". It could well be that the roast took on a burned taste if it was actually browned on all sides for 15 minutes over med-high heat. That is much too long for the browning process. Two or three minutes on each side is plenty of time at that temp and anything longer would give it a hard, possibly burned crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
An important watchword of the reviews has been the reminder to keep enough liquid in the pot throughout the cooking; to aid in this process, I always add about a half cup of good red wine; obviously it also imparts a wonderful subtle flavor, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawman

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I just have to say how amazing this dish tasted. omg i will never make roast any other different ways. At first when i put the cream of mushroom in the pot i was like how am i goin to get gravy but when it cooked over time all the juiced from the mean mixed with the cream of mushroom and made this delicouse gravy. I recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This turned out great! I added some fresh mushrooms to the slowcooker and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I would recommend doubling the soup and adding 1/2 cup of water. Also use low sodium soup or this can get very salty when it reduces in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I will be using this recipe from now on, we loved it. I just added a couple additional items: Potatoes, carrots and quartered onion layered the bottom of my large crock pot. Browned both sides of 3.65 lbs roast on top of stove then placed on top of veggies. Next I mixed 1 can condensed mushroom soup, 1 pkg of dry onion soup mix and 1 cup of beef broth together. Then I added some minced garlic to the liquid. Also added some garlic to the roast pot as well as some cilantro leaves-left out the parsley. Then I added the liquid mixture to the roast and veggies. Also added a few shakes of worcester sauce. Cooked for approx. 9 hours. Added chopped celery in the last 2 hours of cook time. Lots of liquid in ending result, making a wonderful and flavorful gravy. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Manor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
As good as it gets for a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Don't need to add water or broth to crock pot- soup and roast will liquify plenty and the gravy will be thick and yummy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States