Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great recipe! I used suggestions from others and: dredged meat in flour before browning, used 1 pound of baby carrots, replaced cream soup with 1 can beef broth & 3T Worcestershire, and added 1 packet McCormick's Beef Stew Seasoning Mix. Excellent! Served at big family dinner with roasted potatoes and two recipes from this site: Yum Yum Green Beans and Amish Slaw. Rave reviews from all...and so easy. Thank you, Erica!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
One of the best roast recipes I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Sooo good! It made an amazing gravy for the mashed potatoes I made along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My family didn't love this - not sure why. I've never cooked with canned soup before - maybe it was that. But it did make a nice, although fatty, gravy (and my meat was not very fatty). But here's something that may be interesting - because I put 2 roasts in the pot, after 9 hours the meat was still chewy. I had sliced up all the meat, but after dinner, returned all the leftovers to the crock pot with the gravy and cooked another two hours. Then it was nice and tender. So it is possible to return roast to cooking even after it's cooled and improve the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very easy and delicious! My husbands exact words were "Wow! Mmmmm this is good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was awesome. I tweaked it a little by adding 2 celery stalks with leaves which flavored the gravy nicely. I used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of broccoli soup and a ½ cup of beef broth. I cut off all of the fat from a cross rib roast, tenderized it all over with a multi-blade meat tenderizer tool and browned the meat in a preheated skillet over high heat for only a couple of minutes per side. The meat was melt in your mouth tender and the gravy was delicious. There is no need to mince the garlic, just crush the garlic cloves with the handle of a knife and peel the husks from the cloves. No need to chop the celery either because you won’t be eating it, it’s just added for flavoring the meat and the gravy. I used the leftover meat and onions with some raw diced potatoes the next day for making roast beef hash and it was excellent. Thank you Erica for posting your recipe! Note: A multi-blade meat tenderizer tool is a must for tenderizing lower grades and cuts of meat. It breaks up the tough fibers in the meat. Use of a tenderizer tool also allows more marinade to penetrate into the meat. I have the Deni brand that has 49 razor sharp blades in a 2”x2” square pattern. Unfortunately I haven’t seen them in department stores. I had to buy mine on the internet. Jaccard is another good brand of a meat tenderizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I make this even easier by NOT browning the beef roast, mixing one can each of French Onion and Cream of Mushroom soup together and pouring over the roast in the slow cooker. Cook on low for 6-7 hours - you can add your favorite vegies. I bake Yukon and sweet potatoes 1-1 ratio and mix together and use the gravy from the roast - unbelievably easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Awesome! Added half a dry onion soup mix to the mix and it was great. Cooked a beef shoulder roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Loved it!! Added mushrooms and left out parsely. Easiest and Tastiest pot roast ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunderland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was good ! I made exactly as written with the exception of adding a 2nd can of cream of mushroom. I will probably make this again and add some extra veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States