Epic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
It really does seem to be true that almost anything is improved with bacon, and it was the same with these potatoes. I love the combination of cream cheese and chives so I omitted the shallots and substituted chives for the parsley. To dress this up I prepared it in advance and piped it into mini cocottes, then baked them at 375 degrees about 25-30 minutes. Just as impressive as it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
What is not to love? These are delicious. I don't use a mixer to mash potatoes though, a hand masher does a great job without creating a sticky, gluey mess. If you use a mixer, be careful to not over beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These were amazing!! I wouldn't change a thing. A nice alternative when you want mashed potatoes as a side, but your main dish doesn't produce a gravy. We accompanied these with cabbage rolls. Incredible. Will definitely make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I have made these potatoes for over 30 years, make them a day ahead dollop some butter on top bake!! Nice to get a dish prepared a day ahead of a busy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Labor intensive but really yummy - I left my red skins on to add color and vitamins. I also used onion instead of shallots and turkey bacon to cut back on the grease and fat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was a great recipe. Made it just as is and it's a great change from just plain mashed potatoes. Plus we used the leftovers to made potato cakes durning the week! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim G
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a big hit! Epic, indeed! My only problem was that I didn't have "baking potatoes" (which I believe must be a lot larger than regular potatoes), so I used a few more of my regular size potatoes, but I still ended up with too much creaminess and not enough potato. For this recipe, if you don't have large baking potatoes, I would recommend using about 8 regular size potatoes to provide adequate texture and vegetable to disperse the epicness into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Oh Yum! Just like my mom used to make, but better! We never added the bacon and italian seasoning, but we will now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I must say that these are probably the best mashed potatos I have every had, they are not good for the waistline but they are so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melody
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this for thanksgiving. They were a huge hit. Even my picky 7 yr old loved it. Instead of reg cream cheese though I used onion and chive cream cheese. Yummmmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States