English Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My husband said this is the best pie he has ever eaten! It is easy and absolutely delicious! Neither one of us like Pecan pie because it is so sweet and rich. This is not as sweet as Pecan pie and tastes so much better. You can actually eat more than one piece of this one! :-) I made it as the recipe said except I used 1/2 corn syrup and 1/2 100% pure maple syrup per other reviews. I already have requests to make it again for Christmas! I used the Pillsbury ready made refrigerated pie crust dough and it worked great. I did brush the bottom with egg whites before baking to keep the bottom from getting soggy. Awesome recipe...will make again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This pie is perfect as is. Easy to make, and a crowd pleaser. Temperature and time matched perfectly to my oven. the pie was done and completely set within 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I've never made a walnut pie and was skeptical. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I give this five stars for amazing taste and ease of preparation. I did experience some difficulties in the cooking process, but I know that was due to my inexperience with making walnut/pecan pies and also because of my horrible oven and its temperature issues. I followed the baking directions exactly, but my pie was still noticeably underdone even after an extra 20 minutes. I raised the temperature, but it was still hard for me to tell when it was done, and eventually I overcooked it. I did some post-baking research and found a link on savorsa dot com (which I can't apparently post in this review, because it was removed) which discusses the various baking times/temperatures for pecan pies and how to tell when they are done. It was very useful for me as a beginner with pecan/walnut pies, so I wanted to mention it in case it helps other people, too. Again, this is an excellent recipe. Clearly, the baking time/temperature works well for other people, so I'm not going to be one of Those People who 1-star a recipe based on what are obviously their own personal issues. But if you think you might need more information than the recipe provides for knowing when the pie is done ("continue baking for 35 to 45 minutes" is kind of vague for non-experts), then check out some other resources beforehand. I will definitely make this again using this recipe's ingredients, but I will use a different baking time/temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This pie is wonderful! I used dark Karo and added 2 rounded Tablespoons of flour, for a thickening agent. My husband likes it better than pecan pie.....and THAT's saying something. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muriel Holmes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy to make and tastes wonderful. I used grandma Ruth's pie crust recipe. I added extra walnuts and cinnamon and maple extract to the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lreyes1919

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
mmmmmmmmm- a true crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving and received many compliments. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS! I had my heart set on pecan pie this Thanksgiving, but with the price of pecans, I knew that I had to find another alternative...this fit the bill! While it's not a PECAN pie, it's very yummy and filled the craving. This will definitely be made again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Beautiful, AND delicious! The only thing I changed was I added some chopped up Hershey's chocolate- yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States