English Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
All 5 stars plus more. This was a fantastic recipe. And I do mean fantastic. Just the right amount of sweetness & buttery taste. Will do this one many more times to come. Made adjustments: roasted walnuts; use 1/2 c. karo, and 1/4 c. 100% maple syrup. I think that is what made the difference. Again fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Turned out beautifully, much like a pecan pie. I substituted a little maple syrup for some of the corn syrup and loved the aroma while cooking. I had to bake mine an extra 25 minutes. The second time I made this I added an extra egg. This decreased the cooking time and I didn't need extra time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This was so easy to make, and while we did enjoy it, we agreed it would have been better with a combination of walnuts and pecans. Served it with Ambrosia custard. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I going to add one more 5 star review to this delicious pie. It's FANTASTIC! I did switch dark corn syrup for the light corn syrup and I like the added depth of flavor. I read a lot of the reviews that said they used maple syrup and I can totally see that happening and being really good, but I don't like maple. I did add an extra 1/3 cup of walnuts, but that's just my gig, I like walnuts. I really like pecan pie but it's go GAWDAWFUL sweet and rich that I can't eat more than a tiny sliver. This is not like that...it is sweet, yes, but, seriously, I could eat this whole pie...it's that good! It's great with a cup of coffee, which is what I'm doing right now. Thank you, Vivian, for submitting this delicious recipe and I'll be making another one of these for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I have brand new oven, yet after 45 minutes, on 300, the pie was barely beginning to set. I increased the temp to 350 and baked 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is the same pie recipe that "Dear Abby" would give out occasionally. It has been a hit at every gathering I've taken it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
It's good. Had to bake it an additional 20 minutes but other than that it went over well, thanks Vivian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This recipe is the best! I added Maple Syrup to the corn syrup to add a little more depth- wow is this tasty. This is my new favorite pie! Always a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Roy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penn Yan, New York, USA
Living In: Chazy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I give this five stars for amazing taste and ease of preparation. I did experience some difficulties in the cooking process, but I know that was due to my inexperience with making walnut/pecan pies and also because of my horrible oven and its temperature issues. I followed the baking directions exactly, but my pie was still noticeably underdone even after an extra 20 minutes. I raised the temperature, but it was still hard for me to tell when it was done, and eventually I overcooked it. I did some post-baking research and found a link on savorsa dot com (which I can't apparently post in this review, because it was removed) which discusses the various baking times/temperatures for pecan pies and how to tell when they are done. It was very useful for me as a beginner with pecan/walnut pies, so I wanted to mention it in case it helps other people, too. Again, this is an excellent recipe. Clearly, the baking time/temperature works well for other people, so I'm not going to be one of Those People who 1-star a recipe based on what are obviously their own personal issues. But if you think you might need more information than the recipe provides for knowing when the pie is done ("continue baking for 35 to 45 minutes" is kind of vague for non-experts), then check out some other resources beforehand. I will definitely make this again using this recipe's ingredients, but I will use a different baking time/temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Quick and easy! Just sweet enough without being too sweet. What's not to love here! I followed the recipe as stated except I did use 1 1/2 cups of walnuts just to use up what I had left. The timing and temp worked great. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States