English Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving and received many compliments. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS! I had my heart set on pecan pie this Thanksgiving, but with the price of pecans, I knew that I had to find another alternative...this fit the bill! While it's not a PECAN pie, it's very yummy and filled the craving. This will definitely be made again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Beautiful, AND delicious! The only thing I changed was I added some chopped up Hershey's chocolate- yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I going to add one more 5 star review to this delicious pie. It's FANTASTIC! I did switch dark corn syrup for the light corn syrup and I like the added depth of flavor. I read a lot of the reviews that said they used maple syrup and I can totally see that happening and being really good, but I don't like maple. I did add an extra 1/3 cup of walnuts, but that's just my gig, I like walnuts. I really like pecan pie but it's go GAWDAWFUL sweet and rich that I can't eat more than a tiny sliver. This is not like that...it is sweet, yes, but, seriously, I could eat this whole pie...it's that good! It's great with a cup of coffee, which is what I'm doing right now. Thank you, Vivian, for submitting this delicious recipe and I'll be making another one of these for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Didn't have the 3/4c of light corn syrup on hand so I substituted 1/2c of Agave Nectar instead -- the pie came out absolutely delicious. ..Will make again soon to use up all the extra walnuts I have in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was an easy recipe to follow and the pie was good. I made a few for Thanksgiving and everyone (20 people) tried it and liked it. Not as flavorful as pecan but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love desserts my husband does not. Even he loved it & requested it for all our holidays from now on. I like nuts & only added about 1/4 cup more of finely chopped walnuts. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
we loved this pie! i used half pecans and half walnuts because it is what i had on hand. it was a big hit! i live in texas but came here from new york years ago and the one thing about a lot of southern desserts is they are too sweet! i found this pie to be just right..not overly sweet. this pie is in my recipe box for my go to pie. i am a good cook but never claimed to be a good baker. this pie made me look like i was!! thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by true

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Quick and easy! Just sweet enough without being too sweet. What's not to love here! I followed the recipe as stated except I did use 1 1/2 cups of walnuts just to use up what I had left. The timing and temp worked great. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
It's good. Had to bake it an additional 20 minutes but other than that it went over well, thanks Vivian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States