English Walnut Date Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made three fruitcakes this year and this is the one I will keep! A classy cake perfect throughout the year. Simple and nutritious. Like Resonnant, I had my doubts that it wouldn't hold together, but after adding the eggs, it worked! Because the dates were sticky while chopping, I kept the knife wet and clean, and dropped the date pieces into the flour and sugar, mixed them around in the flour to avoid a date clump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a recipe I have been searching for to make for my hyusband. His mother made it at Christmas. Her recipe added marishino cherries so i ADDED A 16 oz jar to the recipe with the other ingredients...Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This cake is absolutely amazing! I had my doubts while mixing the ingredients because after adding the yolks it stayed quite dry. Next up were the egg whites and THEN it all made sense. It began to stick together. I didn't press it all together or pat it down in the pan but I think I'll do so next time. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't change anything. This is such a simple recipe but wonderful and old fashioned-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made this for Christmas this year and got good reports on it from friends. It is an easy cake to make. I had to pit and chopped the dates by hand - this took a while but otherwise it is not time consuming to make. I used a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
i'm not sure why it turned out like it did, but it wasn't even a "cake" anymore. more like a combination of walnut and dates clumped together. still quite yummy, but i would recommend a bit more sugar. maybe make sure that you have enough flour and eggs to have a more cakelike consistency to the batter before baking. definitely will try again, even thought the ingredients are slightly expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I don't know what I did, but it came out extremely dry, but it had a really good flavor to it. I would make it once more, just in case it was me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Mine does not look like the picture, it is short and quite heavy?? I love walnuts and I love dates, but I only like the 'cake'. I'm not sure I would make it again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I made this for Christmas and everyone raved about it! I also made a granadilla flavoured icing that i drizzled over it and the tanginess really complemented the cake flavour. Will definately be making this every year for christmas now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Absolutely delicious! This has become a Chritmas time favourite in our family. I use light muscovado sugar instead of white sugar for a more wholesome flavour. I also often halve the recipe and bake the cake in an 8 inch tube pan. Turns out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is more of a confection than a cake - and it is wonderful. Unbelievably delicious, and extremely beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States