English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This is a yummy dessert, it makes plenty and is a crowd pleaser. It does not get mushy if you refrigerate over night overall it is a very light, summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This is very good but I made my own custard(Idon't like packaged) I used my own frozen strawberries in winter and it's just as good with fresh peaches in summer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is absolutely the easiest and most delicious trifle I've ever tried. I usually flop everything I make no matter how easy the recipe is, but there is nothing that I could possibly mess up with this recipe. My boyfriend said this is the best thing I've ever made. I wrapped some up for his mother and even she raved about it. I will definately make this trifle many, many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This is a nice, basic trifle. It does make quite a bit, but the leftovers are still great. Mine were not runny or mushy at all. I will definately make this when I need an easy dessert for a group of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This was very good, light, and easy. I only used one layer of the cake, though, and that was plenty. Otherwise, I think the fruit and pudding would have been lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
My family just can't get enough of this with fresh summer fruit and berries. So good and refreshing. I add 2 kiwi to the fruit listed in the recipe. It adds some nice color. Also, I use cheesecake flavor pudding rather than the vanilla. This is a great make ahead dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Awesome dessert. Used cheesecake pudding as well. Everyone in my familly gave it 5 stars. Next time will probably use twice the ammount of pudding though and create a bottom layer of pudding under the first layer of cake. Simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 90sANDNowDotCOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dayton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Great recipe, however I made homemade pudding and homemade cake both from this site and the result was out of this world, well worth the effort.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Fantastic dish to make for the family. I used Cool Whip which worked out great. Yummy trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I really wanted to give this recipe 4 stars, but just couldn't with so many adjustments. First, I made my own white cake which came out great, but 2 regular size layers were way too much...I couldn't fit it all in the bowl, and I have a standard size trifle bowl. Next time, I'll make only one cake and cut it in half through the mid-section to get two thinner layers. Also, I was surprised the recipe didn't call for any sherry, so I added 1/4 cup dry sherry to the bottom cake layer...really nice. Next, I've never had an English Trifle with a banana layer, so I omitted it...didn't feel the berries really needed it or like the idea of brown mushy bananas for leftovers. I also wasn't crazy about the taste and texture of the instant vanilla pudding...will try to make something better for next time, though it may take more time & effort. To the whipping cream I added 2 Tbsps sugar and 1 tsp vanilla...would have been pretty bland without it. Finally, I omitted the slivered almonds and maraschino cherries on top...didn't feel they would add anything to the already wonderful fresh berries. Overall, a decent base recipe that I will make my own...still glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States