English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Absolutely delicious!!! I used an Entenmann's fat free yellow cake and sugar free pudding. I made this for company and they loved it too. I will definately be making this again- it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I used splashes of Amaretto liqueur over cubed pound cake and also mixed a little in with the pudding to give it more flavor. I blended the fresh fruit with some frozen thawed fruit as fresh fruit is very pricey and not that great here in New England in the winter. Topped with fresh whipped cream...very good and very rich. I would like to try it in the summer when fresh fruit is better and more plentiful. Thanks for sharing.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
A nice looking dessert. I used sugar-free vanilla and cool whip instead of whipping my own cream. Also added raspberries, instead of the cherries and used pound cake, which gave a good texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is a good recipe, however proper English trifle is made with custard and not vanilla pudding. It really does change the taste. You can use canned fruit and mix with fresh fruit, and custard. Pour sherry over your sponge for a real classic Sherry Trifle - or try amaretto, which is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KROLLINSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapiti, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was very easy to make and tasted great. I used raspberries instead of the cherries on top - it seemed to go better with the other fruit. I also suggest not letting the pudding set so that it soaks into the cake cubes better. Nice dish to take somewhere - looks mor complicated than it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Easy to prepare but I didn't like the cake getting soggy. Like the idea of using lemon pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Awesome stuff!! I didn't have the cherries for the top so I used kiwi, also used angel food cake and cool whip, but that's what I like about this recipe is almost anything goes....Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Too much banana taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
5 stars for sure!! I made my pudding by using half milk and half heavy cream- it comes out so delicious that way and I also made my whipped cream by whipping 2 cups heavy cream with 3/4 cup of confectioners sugar and a squirt of vanilla. Comes out better when you chill the bowl in the freezer for 20 minutes prior to whipping. I did put a whipped cream layer on top of the first layer of pudding as well as on top. I also used butter pound cake instead of the white cake because I had some to use up and it was yummy. It was gone in a heartbeat! And I got requests for the recipe. Good Share...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Everyone loved it! I cheated and used two angelfood cakes because they were buy one get one free and it was too hot out to bake a cake! I just broke it into pieces and did everything else the same. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States