English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My sister-in-law made this for Mother's Day. Very YUMMY! A nice Spring/Summer dessert and definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is a great dessert. I made it for new year's eve party and it was gone in a minute. I didn't give 5 star because there is way too much cake in the recipe. I used only half packet of cake mix and 1.5 packet of vanilla pudding. I didn't use any almonds ( personal choice) and decorated it with sliced strawberries. made two layers and they were gone before any other desserts came out!! UPDATE-- I made it 3 times now, every time great hit. This time I used Pineapple cake mix and it taste sooooo good!! Try it, you will be happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
awesome, but make your own vanilla sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I also made this a couple weeks ago and I am just now getting around to reviewing it. I made this for Bunco Night. The girls raved about it! It is a basic trifle that is VERY easy to mix up. Mine turned out a tad runny, I dont know if it was the custard I used or if the berrys I used let off alot of juice. However it was very well recieved and I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
It was okay. I really like my Grandma's English trifle. Should be custard instead of pudding. Also tasted of too much banana. Looks like most liked this recipe on hear, but it wasn't a winner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I have been making this recipes for about 6 years now...and I always get the best reviews whenever I make it! My brother, the toughest critic of them all requests it at least once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Easy and a very tasty treat. I recommend this recipe to anyone who wants to make a quick but good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I've made this recipe twice (a dinner party and church xmas party)this month! and each time i get many compliments! First its 'its to beautiful to eat' then its all gone! I like to pack it all tight, doing the cake this way at the bottom and then putting the strawberries (i used pie filling, its sweeter, and i like the syrup drizzle look when it seeps into the cracks of the cake) then putting each blueberry close to eachother around the glass. then laying the bananas laying on the one before it....it looks gorgeous...will make it for christmas this year...and my sister's wedding days after xmas! its a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrard photography

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Everyone loved it, a little pricey to make but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I used a store bought angel food cake (it gets a little mushy but still tastes great) and I added crushed pineapple to the layers. I didn't have orange juice so used a little lemon juice so the bananas wouldn't turn brown. All fresh fruit in the summer is a plus! On the top I used fresh strawberry wedges and no almonds or cherries. The whole thing was gobbled down in about 5 minutes! Let it sit in the fridge for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States