English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This is very close to the one I got from my friend's in England. The only difference is they use Angel food cake and you HAVE to put either Sherry or Brandy on the bottom layer of cake and let it soak up the booze to make it a proper English trifle . Depending on who poured it on in my family it was anywhere from 1/2 to 1 cup! Dad would add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Delish! Very easy to do and tastes great! Not too filling and will serve a good size group. Although my people kept having seconds so maybe not;) I used banana pudding and it was great. Next time i will try it with lemon cake instead. I think that will be delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I turned a failed cake (didn't rise) into a nice desert using this recipe. The crowd enjoyed it. I think that adding some liqueur would be a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this for my ultra health conscious brother-in-law and it was ahuge hit. Perfect light summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Excellent and yummy - I took short cuts by using a lemon pound cake bought from the store, lemon pudding and some lemoncelo liqueur if serving to adults - also couldn't find blueberries so I substited with a can of crushed pineapple with the juice - wow - so many compliments from everyone. Topped it with Light Cool Whip and decorated with small pieces of sugared pineapple pieces and strawberries. Thank you for this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETIRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I've been looking for a while for a GREAT recipe and this is it! I do make a few changes, no cherries and I use pound cake instead of baking a cake. Also, I use cool whip instead of whipping cream. This is always a hit at parties and looks just beautiful! I also tried using the cheesecake flavor pudding that others recommended and it was delicious but not that different in flavor from the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I took this to our family Father's Day BBQ and it was a hit. Even the men raved about it and they usually don't comment on desserts! I used vanilla pudding, but I think I'll try using lemon next, just for a new flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made this recipe according to the instructions and it is wonderful! The only note I would add is to let the juice from the cherries drain off before putting them on top. The cherry juice runs on the whip cream. This is just a presentation issue, because it tastes great. I think next time I will try to make my own pudding to see if this adds anything to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Made this Friday and it was a big hit. A few things I did differently: Crumbled the layers of cake (so it would all fit in my bowl), used cook and serve pudding instead of instant, used creamy cool whip instead of real whipped cream, and added a layer of cool whip in the first layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Harding

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My sister-in-law made this for Mother's Day. Very YUMMY! A nice Spring/Summer dessert and definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States