English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I served this last night at a family get together and everyone just raved about it. I used premade mini jelly role cake, I doubled the pudding/milk amount and used blueberries instead of bananas. I also mixed in some cool whip with the pudding to lighten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I really wanted to give this recipe 4 stars, but just couldn't with so many adjustments. First, I made my own white cake which came out great, but 2 regular size layers were way too much...I couldn't fit it all in the bowl, and I have a standard size trifle bowl. Next time, I'll make only one cake and cut it in half through the mid-section to get two thinner layers. Also, I was surprised the recipe didn't call for any sherry, so I added 1/4 cup dry sherry to the bottom cake layer...really nice. Next, I've never had an English Trifle with a banana layer, so I omitted it...didn't feel the berries really needed it or like the idea of brown mushy bananas for leftovers. I also wasn't crazy about the taste and texture of the instant vanilla pudding...will try to make something better for next time, though it may take more time & effort. To the whipping cream I added 2 Tbsps sugar and 1 tsp vanilla...would have been pretty bland without it. Finally, I omitted the slivered almonds and maraschino cherries on top...didn't feel they would add anything to the already wonderful fresh berries. Overall, a decent base recipe that I will make my own...still glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Perfect! I loved it, as did my husband and 3 little ones. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
this is excellent start to a great recipe! I made mine a little more like I would make a chocolate trifle--with more layers (3 instead of 2). It really changes the look of the dessert. I used lady fingers instead of white cake and let the strawberries mascerate (juice) overnight, so the lady fingers has something to soak up. This recipe can also be really light--using lite cool whip and fat free pudding. So easy, so fun to make, so delicious! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it! I was short on time and used Cool Whip on the top rather than whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
So easy and so delicious! I used this trifle recipe because I had a white cake mix on hand and the others use angel food cake. I made the night before our family Easter party and it was not soggy at all when we ate it and it was a light dessert after a heavy meal. I also layered the whipped topping after the pudding mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milia
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made this b/c my daughter needed to bring in a recipe from another country. It was a hit in her class! The director of her preschool took the leftovers home and said it was a hit with her family! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Made this again this past weekend. I use leftover pound cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is good stuff! I used small plastic cups to make individual servings for a potluck and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Gaylord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was delicious! Loved it!!! Everyone wanted recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States