English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jerry V.
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I agree with a previous review who said this makes quite a large quantity. For me, my trifle bowl was...dare I say it...a trifle small. If you want to make a smaller quantity or use a smaller bowl, you can get away with only 1 cake sliced in half and not cubed. This also allows for more easy layering of the fruit. I did not use the whipped crease simply ran out of room! Delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vofty
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Made this for a New Year's party and it was even better than I could have hoped! I used blackberries instead of bananas and also added vanilla to the whip cream. I also used about 1-2 cups of orange juice over the cake layers. I only needed 1x8 in cake layer, I have no idea how you could fit 2 in the trifle bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Soooo good! I did not do glasses but, put it in a big serving bowl and it was just as good. I will be cooking this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was absolutely delighted with the results of this recipe. I used store bought sponge cake and, as it was not the time of year for fresh fruit, frozen strawberries and blueberries, partially thawed. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Easy and delicious! Was a instant hit at a party last night and we were getting requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Soooo yummy and pretty! Served it along with a chocolate trifle for a bridal shower. It was a hit! A great dessert for a crowd. It really serves a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good. I prefer to use berries only. I also add shaved white chocolate atop the cream layer. I prefer to make homemade whipped cream rather than to use store bought cool whip. It's a very rich and decadent dessert, so the more you control the sweetness and the richness of it, the better it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Slightly merged this recipe with Jello's Angel Lush recipe. Used an angel food cake instead, decreased the sugar to 1/8 cup, used 3 bananas, 1/2 cup oj to soak in, and cheesecake instant pudding. Also mixed in 1 cup of cool whip to the pudding mixture to thicken it. Layered cake, pudding, fruit and repeated. Left the whipping cream, almonds, and cherries off completely. The last layer of fruit makes a beautiful top. Everyone raved about it and asked for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
LOVED IT! Great taste, and combonation. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Topsham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I made this trifle yesterday for a family get together and it was the biggest of anything I've ever made. My family went crazy over it and there was none left to bring home. It is absolutely delicious and the men really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States