English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I brought this to an summer evening "work" picnic. It was light and refreshing and looked decadent, too. Two white cake layers was more cake than needed for the size of trifle bowl that I have. One to 1 1/2 layers would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abplafcan
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Delicious! Perfect as a chilled dessert after a hot summer BBQ. The only real change I made was to use granola instead of almonds. I also put them into individual glass bowls (which only had room for one cake layer), and used strawberry glaze to make decorative swirls along the inside of the glass. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I used homemade pastry cream instead of the instant pudding. This was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I made this for memorial day and it was a smashing sucess! The only change I made is I used cool whip instead of making my own whipped cream to save time. This will be a summer staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Made this dessert today and it turned out amazing. Rave reviews by all! I did make my own white cake and vanilla pudding from scratch(recipes from this website) and I think that added the perfect touch. I made the cake and pudding last night to save time. All in all it was absolutely delicious. I was expecting it to be heavy but it tasted like a light summery dessert...can't beat that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Everyone loved this more than I did but I have to admit that I used a sugar free Angel Food cake recipe for the cake instead of what was called for. I'm probably just not a huge English Trifle fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellen S.
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/English-Trifle/Detail.aspx# i used a duncan hines white cake mix but made it with vanilla pudding and almond extract to make an almond pound cake. used that instead of the plain white cake mix. Amazing. I also substituted fresh blackberries on the top in a nice pattern instead of cherries as that is what I had. everyone loved it. signature dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Everyone loved this!!! I made the cake the night before and then assembled the rest one hour before I served it... Next time I won't add the bananas because the next day leftovers had slimy brown bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
We made this for Diversity Day at my son's school and it was a big hit! The 2nd graders loved it. A great recipe to make with my son. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Sooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States