English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I've made this for 2 different dinners this weekend and it was a hit both times! The first time, I made my own cake. The second I didn't have time so I picked up a store bought one. Both were great. The only thing I left out were the bananas. I just don't like bananas! I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Huge hit. Great presentation. Got a lot of oooohs and ahhhhs when I brought this out! :) Plus it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Delicious and easy, so long as you remember to bake the cake and thaw the berries in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe. I love trifle, so I was very excited to see this one. Next time, I'm thinking of trying to soak the bananas in a Gran Manier instead of orange juice, but I'm not sure how it will taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jltenorth
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wow! What a crowd pleaser!!! SO easy to make, so easy to adjust, and so impressive looking. My first attempt at a trifle, and I couldn't have been happier with it. Thank you for a wonderfully simple recipe that I can put together for any fancy occassion! P.S. I made this for Valentine's day, so I used white cake but colored some of it pink and some of it red to have more Valentine color. Adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved this dessert, simple to make. This makes plenty and is a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was a HUGE hit at our families get together. However, the next time I will omit the almond. Most of the men in the family complained how it ruined the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very good- the only changes- left out bananas and since I like to taste my whipped cream, I added 2 tbsp powdered sugar to whipped cream. Every single person went on and on about these. Simple, pretty and tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I brought this to an summer evening "work" picnic. It was light and refreshing and looked decadent, too. Two white cake layers was more cake than needed for the size of trifle bowl that I have. One to 1 1/2 layers would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abplafcan
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Delicious! Perfect as a chilled dessert after a hot summer BBQ. The only real change I made was to use granola instead of almonds. I also put them into individual glass bowls (which only had room for one cake layer), and used strawberry glaze to make decorative swirls along the inside of the glass. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States