English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Easy, makes alot. I used cooked pudding and additional strawberries in place of blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anjam Tellicher
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I had tried with the same last week but I did'nt get the maraschino cherries instead I used the red cherry as topping.....It was really Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjam Tellicher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Overly sweet despite omitting the sugar altogether. The cake does not go with the other ingredients. on this trifle luckily I only made 2 single servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is a great recipe I've used for many years. Friends and relatives request I make it all the time. Changes: 1. I don't use the whole cake - only half. 2. Add 1/4 cup of confectioners sugar once whipped cream is ready to sweeten it. 3. Don't bother with the almonds and cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This recipe has boxed pudding (not custard) but at least it doesn't have "frozen whipped topping" which I refuse to bake with! I would reduce the banana flavor and this would be better than any other "trifle" recipe on this site. As others have mentioned, this isn't a proper trifle, but it's much better than the "American" trifles listed here with boxed pudding and frozen whipped topping - yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The friend from England didn't give you the real recipe with jello and custard powder. That makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
There are no hard & fast rules for trifle. My mom was from Scotland, so she made trifle for special occasions often. Instead of the pudding, she used custard sauce made from Custard Powder, usually found in the cake aisle near the pudding & jello mixes. She also substituted diluted jello mix (just the hot portion) of choice for the sherry, sprinkling over cubed angel food cake. And if there was no fresh fruit available, she substituted a can of fruit cocktail, drained. It's great to have all these variations! Each are unique and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was a great recipe! Everyone loved it ! It was easy to make, and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is fabulous! I made for a family cookout, and not only is this dessert very pretty, it tastes even better than it looks! I think this dessert would be good if the recipe was followed exactly, but I made a few minor changes as to the ingredients I already had. I made an Angel Food cake, and used half to cube, and I used whipped cream, and French Vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this for Easter dinner. It was a huge hit!! It looks very impressive and is super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States