English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This recipe is awesome but I would double the custard and whip cream! I cut back the pound cake to one and used one full standard box of strawberries, 1/2 box of raspberries, 1/2 box blueberries, and 1/2 box of blackberries. Next time I will cut one pound cake into small pieces. 1/2 inch cubes. It was too much to bite into large pieces. After 2 hours didn't absorb any custard. I used strawberry glaze over strawberries! Yum. Trying kiwi and pineapple too maybe banana after dipped in orange juice. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My mother always used Birds Custard mix, so I still use it simply because the taste brings back happy memories of parties and holidays I enjoyed as a child. Otherwise it is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael John Kirk

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Pretty good recipe but needs some adjustments. The whipped cream and custard amounts need to be doubled or else the trifle is too dry. Also, I followed the instructions and yet my custard did not thicken. I will look elsewhere next time for a custard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe is nice. I grew up with one very similar and continue to make it today. Instead of using cake and spreading jam on it, just buy raspberry rolls and slice them and line the bottom and sides of the bowl, this looks really pretty. I use Birds Custard, making it according to the directions for the dessert custard (which is thicker. A nice variation to this, is to sprinkle the raspberry rolls with Peach Schnaaps and use peaches sliced along with the raspberries for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Test made this today served in goblets and making it in a trifle container tomorrow. Turned out very very good. Some tips - for a trifle container you definitely need to double or triple the custard recipe. Add 1 Tablespoon cornstarch mixed with a little milk to custard mixture to thicken. Add a teaspoon of vanilla too. I bought 2 1-lb Sara Lee frozen pounds cakes which I think would be tastier than angle food cake. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar to the whipped cream. Homemade custard is the way to go - wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Out of this world rich, crazy, and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Easy recipe to follow. Did get runny custard one time. Not sure why. Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Yummmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delicious overall. I bought a sponge cake at the grocery store, which i think was a bit big. Next time i will double the custard recipe, because it turned out great and i wanted more. Added some vanilla and almond essence to the custard, next time i will throw in a vanilla bean. I don't think that whipping the custard was necessary, it was a bit hard to judge when it was done because of all the foam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe is pretty authentic but traditional trifle includes soaking sponge cake with sherry however, I prefer to use Chambord. I also used Sara Lee frozen pound cake which has an excellent consistency. Be sure to add a little sugar to the whipped cream and top the trifle with the fruit(s) of your choice. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States