English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This trifle was delicious and a big hit with everyone! I have tried trifle with instant pudding this beats it hands down. A note of caution: As a reviewer noted below custart recipe does NOT cover it at all. Be prepared to double or possibly even triple the custard portion of the recipe. It is worth it though. I used ladyfingers which were wonderful. I used strawberry jam and cut up fresh strawberries and bananas and layered it in the trifle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was so easy! I wanted to fill my trifle bowl to the top, so I used 2 frozen 1 lb. Sara Lee pound cakes. I spread some of the cubes with raspberry curd and some with good raspberry jam. This added some really cool color contrast. I also made more whipped cream (with a little rum and vanilla) and extra custard (added vanilla there too). My guests adored it as did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
when i was a lil girl my dad used to make a trifle on highdays :) and this is what it should taste like its great,thanks dear polly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
i whipped this trifle together for a luncheon with a friend, and we couldn't get enough. Am making it tonight for the family as I didn't have any leftover yesterday!!!!!!!!!!! Was the best best best I ever had, so easy, and once you make it with "custard" as opposed to instant pudding, you'll be a convert!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Great recipe! This was my first time making trifle. It is a bit time consuming and recipe needs to be doubled to feed a family. Added vanilla to the custard and to the whipped cream as well. Turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This is real trifle - instant pudding is a big NO NO when it comes to making English trifle. Thanks. I had lost my good custard recipe and I think this one will replace it. Not for those on a diet!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
All I can say is WOW. This was my first time making Trifle and this was delish. I did make some changes due to the size of dish I was trying to fill. I used twice as many raspberries and doubled the recipe for the custard. I used this extra to make the trifle with three layers instead of just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
We made this to take to a personal wine tasting, and the wine we were tasting was Riesling. As you probably know, many Rieslings are very sweet - and this was the perfect complement. The sweetness comes from the cake and fruit, and the cream just emphasizes the fruit flavor. Great recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
My family members almost inhaled this. They loved it! I made it for this Christmas 2006. As always, I rarely follow a recipe completely. I substituted the vanilla pudding with a Jello Cheesecake mix (omit the graham cracker crust) and along with the raspberries I also added 2 bananas (1 per layer). For the festive occasion, I also added marshino cherries and sprinkled health bits in between the cherries all on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States