English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I used angel food cake (store bought) and doubled the custard. My dinner guests raved over it and ate every last bite. Don't make this if you want leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This reminds me of childhood! It may be the best dessert ever. Fresh, light, flavorful! I did double the custard recipe to make it more like my childhood memory, but otherwise... perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The name is right, this Trifle IS to die for! And it really is easy to make too. I used a store bought Lemon pound cake, doubled the Custard recipe, used Strawberry jam and strawberries instead of raspberries. Still, those changes are relatively minor and this is a very well deserved five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ashley
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
The GREATEST dessert ever!!! I'm so thankful, so so so impressed! Even my husband who is not a big fan of dessert, had 2 helpings!! (after a big dinner of pot roast and other stuff) This is my 1st ever English Trifle and it turned out perfect! I used strawberry jam instead, added strawberries, blueberries, kiwi fruits and peaches! The colors were beautiful :) Full of sunshine! The home made custard was impressive! Will never buy the custard mix from shops again. I too doubled the portion for custard. It was barely enough. Everything was great! Except i didn't have a trifle bowl which was a waste, couldn't see the color contrast. I'll always use this recipe for English Trifle. It's the best! The most important thing is, this pleases my picky eater husband ;) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My mom, who is English, has a recipe for Trifle that included a box custard. When I went to the grocery store and could no longer find the box custard I looked here for a good custard recipe. Let me tell you, the custard in this recipe is the best. My only complaint is that it didn't make enough! My mom agreed I could have easily doubled the amount of custard and it would have been that much better. Thanks for the recipe. I will stop looking for the box custard and will continue to make my own using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Yummy! Doubled the custard recipe and used fresh berries. Didn't use much whipped cream, but added a small amount of sugar to what I did make! Definatly will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Excellent! I made this for a party and served it individual dishes. I also put a little bit of orange liquor. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Always a hit, especially at holiday time. You can change the fruit to what you like but bananas, strawberries and raspberries are always a good bet. Being British, I miss the desserts so much here in the USA. You don't have to have sherry in the bottom but it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
even though my custard didn't turn out, i am giving this five stars because i'm sure i did something wrong. I think i cooked it too long because the custard curdled. I cooked some vanilla pudding as a substitute and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was my best trifle so far. I made some modifications I believe added to the success. 1. Added orange liquor to the sponge cake. 2. Added sugar and vanila to the whipping cream while whipping. 3. Made the sponge cake using the lemon chiffon cake recipe in allrecipes. 4. Made my own raspberry jam/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suriya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States