English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this recipe in 6 miniature trifle cups, and it was a hit. However, I used a custard mix and topped the dessert with strawberries and blackberries instead of strawberries and blueberries. I also used my grandmother's delicious whipped cream recipe which has a healthy dose of vanilla and sugar in it. The miniature trifles looked rather gourmet when finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j'adorelacuisine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is almost exactly how my mom makes it...only difference is she moistens the sponge cake with sherry. Super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for the first time for Easter and it was a HUGE hit! I took some other reviewers' advice and added vanilla to the custard, and vanilla & sugar to the whipping cream. I'm not sure if I cooked the custard long enough, since it was a bit runny (will add a little cornstarch w/ milk next time). I put sliced strawberries in one layer, and bananas & kiwis in the next layer. Even though it was a little "soupy", it still tasted DELICIOUS and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I make this every year for Christmas and now I'm starting to get requests for it beyond the holiday season. Simple, easy to make, and moist and delicious. It always goes quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Low rating but my fault - custard was way too runny Once I figure it out I'll rerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Loved by all! Too add more berry flavor, I heated some frozen berries in sugar, stirring constantly until it had a runny, liquid texture then added jam to the mix. Bought it off the heat and allowed it to cool before adding a shot of blackberry nip and dunking the sponge squares until they were half-coated. Really added to the texture of the trifle, and gave it a larger depth of flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rach
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is a delicious trifle. However, you need to triple the custard portion and double the whipped cream. I also doubled the raspberries. There is def. not enough custard or cream to cover the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Don't forget to add the sherry or brandy over the sponge - otherwise its not a real English Trifle. With the sherry its worth 5 stars - without the sherry 4 stars or less!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Yummy Yummy! We all loved it! I doubled the cream, cake and whipped cream, per others suggestions and layered it twice. I used frozen raspberries, since out of season, and it was great. Loved the homemade custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States