English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delicious overall. I bought a sponge cake at the grocery store, which i think was a bit big. Next time i will double the custard recipe, because it turned out great and i wanted more. Added some vanilla and almond essence to the custard, next time i will throw in a vanilla bean. I don't think that whipping the custard was necessary, it was a bit hard to judge when it was done because of all the foam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe is pretty authentic but traditional trifle includes soaking sponge cake with sherry however, I prefer to use Chambord. I also used Sara Lee frozen pound cake which has an excellent consistency. Be sure to add a little sugar to the whipped cream and top the trifle with the fruit(s) of your choice. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I had a Downton Abbey party and this was one of the British foods I made. The directions were very clear and the outcome was fantastic. I don't even care for berries, but i think I had four or five helpings! I did use blackberry jam and berries, as well as frozen blueberries, which I think turned out well and they were cheaper than raspberries. Everyone loved the toasted almonds on top! Great, great recipe. I'll be making it again soon just for my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I haven't tried this recipe but I have a small suggestion that is valid for most trifle. Make it the day before you need it and store it in the fridge. It's waaaay better the second day. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is so good! The homemade custard is so much better than instant pudding. I used in season berries and this can definitely be delicious with any combo you want. I made it for my work and I everyone wanted the recipe and for me to make it again right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
following changes: 1 layer of cake 1 pint strawberries + 1 banana 2 cups pudding 2 cups whipped cream repeat 1 more layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Newark, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Amazing! I made this for christmas and everybody loved it! I used a vanilla pod for the custard and didn't use the jam. I sprinkled fresh berries with sugar and let their juices moisten the cake. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent flavor. Like others suggested... a) I doubled the custard recipe, b) added vanilla to the custard and the whipped cream. c) used Sara Lee frozen pound cake d) made it in layers: Layer 1: pound cake spread with seedless raspberry jam, then sprinkled with frozen raspberries and sherry, then spread with half the custard. Layer 2: Repeat layer 1. Then spread with whipped cream and toasted slivered almonds. My only difficulty was that my custard didn't set too well, despite adding 2 or 3 spoons of cornstarch. I'll have to read up on making custard to find out what I did wrong. Other than the custard being runny, it was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzettew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this trifle for christmas in 2010 and everyone loved it. I did have to double the recipe to fill my huge trifle dish to the top. I will make this dish every year for Christmas. A new Christmas tradition to be charished and longed for all year. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This disappeared in 5 minutes! Very simple to make. I used lady fingers lined the bottom and sides of the bowl. I used raspberries and strawberries. As it was being devoered, everyone made suggestions for other fruit and flavors. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States