English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
The cake was a shortcake type, which held up well and offered a perfect textural contrast. I used raspberries in place of strawberries because I was lucky enough to happen upon them. Two college athletes and the rest of the group agreed it was excellent. One tip, which was taught to me by my aunt many years ago when cooking vanilla pudding or custard as a filling: Cook it with a piece of lemon rind/zest. It offers a subtle dimension to the filling that is delightful, and was effective here. Also, I was low on sherry and substituted with Amaretto. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
My cake didn't turn out very fluffy but I live at 10,000 feet and tried to compensate for the altitude but it was a bit solid. Nonetheless this was very good. This recipe makes sooooo much though! I still have half of the bowl left after a dinner party! I'm not sure how classic this recipe is though, it came out much more creamy than in England. But it tasted lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Excellent recipe. I substituted Amaretto for the Sherry, and used strawberries and blueberries for the fruit. For the raspberry jam, I used a gourmet raspberry dessert filling. The cake was a nice shortbread, not too sweet and had great texture. It didn't rise much for me either. Would make again for our Sunday dinner crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I thought the whipped cream, the pudding, and the fruit combination was awesome! I also used amaretto. Wonderful. I was slightly put off by two things: 1) the cake was a bit dense and dry...may have just overcooked it, but may use a different cake next time, and 2) the whipped cream was beige from the addition of the vanilla. Next time I'll probably use a clear vanilla flavoring rather than vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Yummy. But instead of making the cake, I just used frozen Sara Lee pound cake. My company LOVED it. Everyone had two servings. Also, I didn't have sherry so I used Amaretto Liquer instead. Using fresh fruit & fresh whipping cream makes it fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
The shortbread was perfect for this recipe - I wouldn't use a store-bought pound cake because it wouldn't hold the amaretto or sherry very well. Also threw in some raspberries. A perfect summer dessert. It makes a HUGE trifle - enough for a 6-8 people dinner party with leftovers! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I made it without the sherry and it was still absolutely delicious. Plus, it looks pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
the fruit, pudding and whipped cream parts were great, but the cake was awful. It turned out very hard and dry, and didn't soak up any of the juices from the fruit or liquer. I'd suggest buying ladyfingers, or using pound cake, and leaving out the liquer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was ok. Real English Trifle is made with a custard not instant pudding. substitute the pudding with Birds instant custard which you can buy at many grocery or specialty stores, or make your own custard. This makes the recipe more authentic and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
an english trifle must be set on the base with flavoured jelly (jello) not jam.this means you get the glug when serving.use birds custard or ambrosia if you can get it.and garnish the top with hundreds and thousands.mmmmmmm i need trifle rite now!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States