English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I followed the suggestions of MommyFromSeattle, and couldn't be happier with the end result. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The key was to find the right heat and stir, stir, stir. On the second try, I found that exactly at medium worked well; It started to smoke a hair and I pulled it off the heat right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Concannon
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
One thing I have found to make this even better is to wait for the sugar to reach 300 f, then add the almonds. Also, add a dash, 1/8 tsp or so, of salt to the sugar beforehand. Another way to tell the sugar is all melted, is the point after all of the boiling I have noticed the mixture will look grainy, then start to melt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Quick note on my review, I didn't put the almonds in during the mixing process, in fact I also used walnuts, but I put them on top of the chocolate and pushed them into the chocolate just after the toffee hardened but the chocolate was still warm and accepting of the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used sliced almonds and that was a mistake. They are so thin that they burned quickly, giving the entire toffee a burnt taste. But even aside from that, it just wasn't all that exciting to me. My kids said it just tasted like sugar and my husband asked if the chocolate was ever going to harden. Don't think I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have never made Eniglish Toffee before, but my mom always made it. This is as good as hers. I cooked it until it was the color of light carmel, and it seemed to darken up a little after I poured it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This toffee tastes exactly how my grandmother used to make, and could not be easier. I did omit the nuts and boil the mixture until about 280'-290', and it set up perfectly. I also melted my chocolate and then spread it over the top. It turned out PERFECT and everyone loves it! I will definitely be making this each and every year, from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Perfect! I followed the recipe omitting the nuts. My 7 year-old was the 'chef' and does not like them. We just love it! It takes a while to cook. But I think the recipe time is just about right. Don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious and very easy! Crisp crunchy texture without being too sticky. Flavor is good but not super rich--if you're looking for that authentic English toffee experience, I'd use another recipe that calls for more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was good homemade candy. You'll want to make sure it reaches a dark carmel color before you take it off the burner (about 10-12 minutes for my batch.) I also reduced the butter to 3/4c. and added 2 Tbs. of corn syrup to prevent sugar crystals from forming. Also, I DID NOT STIR THE POT but rather covered it with a lid. I've read that stirring causes crystal formation and results in grainy candy. When covered, the trapped steam washes any sugar crystals down the inside of the pot. Also, be sure to BUTTER YOUR PAN WELL, otherwise your candy will flake off and crumble instead of coming off in nice pieces. Next time I will probably line the pan with foil, then butter the foil to make for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States