English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used sliced almonds and that was a mistake. They are so thin that they burned quickly, giving the entire toffee a burnt taste. But even aside from that, it just wasn't all that exciting to me. My kids said it just tasted like sugar and my husband asked if the chocolate was ever going to harden. Don't think I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have never made Eniglish Toffee before, but my mom always made it. This is as good as hers. I cooked it until it was the color of light carmel, and it seemed to darken up a little after I poured it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This toffee tastes exactly how my grandmother used to make, and could not be easier. I did omit the nuts and boil the mixture until about 280'-290', and it set up perfectly. I also melted my chocolate and then spread it over the top. It turned out PERFECT and everyone loves it! I will definitely be making this each and every year, from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Perfect! I followed the recipe omitting the nuts. My 7 year-old was the 'chef' and does not like them. We just love it! It takes a while to cook. But I think the recipe time is just about right. Don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious and very easy! Crisp crunchy texture without being too sticky. Flavor is good but not super rich--if you're looking for that authentic English toffee experience, I'd use another recipe that calls for more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was good homemade candy. You'll want to make sure it reaches a dark carmel color before you take it off the burner (about 10-12 minutes for my batch.) I also reduced the butter to 3/4c. and added 2 Tbs. of corn syrup to prevent sugar crystals from forming. Also, I DID NOT STIR THE POT but rather covered it with a lid. I've read that stirring causes crystal formation and results in grainy candy. When covered, the trapped steam washes any sugar crystals down the inside of the pot. Also, be sure to BUTTER YOUR PAN WELL, otherwise your candy will flake off and crumble instead of coming off in nice pieces. Next time I will probably line the pan with foil, then butter the foil to make for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is beyond GOOD!!! I made it exactly as written and it was wonderful...don't change a thing! Thanks so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is wonderful!! Made it exactly like recipe. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very easy to make. I made 3 batches of this last year and every bit disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed the instructions in MommyFromSeattle's review, and it turned out fantastic! I may never have to buy another Heath bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States