English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I just made 4 batches of this candy and as a matter of fact I am writing this review while still in my kitchen....this recipe was super easy! I read all the other reviews who tried to complicate this recipe but there really is no reason. The adjustment I made was instead of 2 tbls of water I used 1 tbls of water and 1 tbls of vanilla. It does take a little longer to cook than the recipe suggested on my electric stove top, I made the candy in a non-stick pan and it is raining today and everything came out great! Oh yeah the only other recommendation I would give is to but mini chocolate chips to sprinkle over and melt so they would melt faster and easier or just melt the chocolate and top the candy once it is hard. Great recipe!! Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, just as is. Do not succumb to the temptation to add less butter. That will result in a product that is not as luxuriously delicious as it could have been. The candy is known in England as "butter toffee." In other words, the butter is the star, and real toffee is crammed full of it. That said, I realize there are many reviews here that refer to the buttery, oily ooze that rises to the top of their toffee. The cause of this is, quite simply, that it was cooked at too high a temperature to allow the chemical process to take place sufficiently. By heating the sugar, we develop the structure of our finished product. In order to accomplish this properly, the sugar has to melt slowly so that there's sufficient time for its molecules to combine with those of the butter, resulting in that delicately crunchy, buttery product. Remember that patience is always your friend when making any candy. Sure, I understand that it can become tedious to wait and wait for that temperature rise, but better that than to end up with a low quality product that you're not proud to serve or worse yet, that ends up in the trash. With the cost of groceries now days, that's a minor tragedy. Always cook on low heat and allow the melting process to occur slowly and evenly. The same for the temperature rise. Low and slow - your new mantra. Do this on a nice weather day and follow that one piece of advice, and you'll turn out stuff that will put Heath bars to shame every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Really easy and delicious! I took a test batch to work, and got so many compliments! Definitely going in the Christmas baskets this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I had to make this toffee twice. The first time I made it I followed the instructions to the letter. It tasted burned. I had to throw it out. The second time I used my own judgement with the toffee. I found that I stirred constantly and waited till the candy was actually toffee colored before removing it from the heat, I tested in water for the crack stage. I also added 3T water as well as 3T of white corn syrup as recommended by another person. Came out great. Use you own experience when making this candy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naniflora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
oh my gosh - I just made this for part of our Christmas treats but there's no way it will last in the house till even tomorrow. Delicious - followed the recipe as it is. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was so easy and is probably the best toffee I have eaten. I usually use my candy thermometer to make candy like this, but I just relied on the color and consistency of the mixture. I poured it onto a cookie sheet lined with foil, tossed on the chocolate chips and after a few more almonds, done. It set up perfectly and is not too chewy and not so hard that it breaks your teeth. It is perfect, buttery, toffee. Will use this recipe often, especially during the holidays. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
i did not have chocolate on hand so i tried the toffee with just almonds. I made 4 batches! Awfully hard to get right. I used a candy thermometer and followed the directions exactly. The 1st batch tasted exactly like my cast iron pot and took a long time to come up to temp. Yuk. DO NOT USE CAST IRON. The candy flavor is too subtle and can not stand up to the metallic taste it adds. Next I used a stainless steel pot and it burned a little of course, ruined. Next i lowered the heat in the steel pot, it reached temp but the sugar never dissolved, it was the right color but taffy like and gritty. I ran out of butter so I used regular smart balance spread in the steel pot and it came out beautifully, I had to be careful not to burn it. I have no idea why it worked better with the spread. I recommend a very thick metal pot and a candy thermometer. Also say away from parchment paper, it picks up the waxy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Made this and it did not turn out. Would like to rank it with no stars. Wouldn't turn golden color, and the sugar separated from the butter. Not sure if the instructions are accurate - I've never made a candy where you stirred constantly, but didn't quit for a while, and let it cook. I tried Paula Dean's toffee recipe, and it turned out great! Was easy to make, as well. Her instructions made much more sense than those for this recipe, based on my experience (several years) in making candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very similar to an Amish brittle recipe I've seen on here. But this is the easiest recipe I've ever found for english toffee. Tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Quick, easy and delicious. I toast a few of the slivered almonds and dust on top of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States