English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I had to make this toffee twice. The first time I made it I followed the instructions to the letter. It tasted burned. I had to throw it out. The second time I used my own judgement with the toffee. I found that I stirred constantly and waited till the candy was actually toffee colored before removing it from the heat, I tested in water for the crack stage. I also added 3T water as well as 3T of white corn syrup as recommended by another person. Came out great. Use you own experience when making this candy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naniflora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
oh my gosh - I just made this for part of our Christmas treats but there's no way it will last in the house till even tomorrow. Delicious - followed the recipe as it is. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was so easy and is probably the best toffee I have eaten. I usually use my candy thermometer to make candy like this, but I just relied on the color and consistency of the mixture. I poured it onto a cookie sheet lined with foil, tossed on the chocolate chips and after a few more almonds, done. It set up perfectly and is not too chewy and not so hard that it breaks your teeth. It is perfect, buttery, toffee. Will use this recipe often, especially during the holidays. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
i did not have chocolate on hand so i tried the toffee with just almonds. I made 4 batches! Awfully hard to get right. I used a candy thermometer and followed the directions exactly. The 1st batch tasted exactly like my cast iron pot and took a long time to come up to temp. Yuk. DO NOT USE CAST IRON. The candy flavor is too subtle and can not stand up to the metallic taste it adds. Next I used a stainless steel pot and it burned a little of course, ruined. Next i lowered the heat in the steel pot, it reached temp but the sugar never dissolved, it was the right color but taffy like and gritty. I ran out of butter so I used regular smart balance spread in the steel pot and it came out beautifully, I had to be careful not to burn it. I have no idea why it worked better with the spread. I recommend a very thick metal pot and a candy thermometer. Also say away from parchment paper, it picks up the waxy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Made this and it did not turn out. Would like to rank it with no stars. Wouldn't turn golden color, and the sugar separated from the butter. Not sure if the instructions are accurate - I've never made a candy where you stirred constantly, but didn't quit for a while, and let it cook. I tried Paula Dean's toffee recipe, and it turned out great! Was easy to make, as well. Her instructions made much more sense than those for this recipe, based on my experience (several years) in making candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very similar to an Amish brittle recipe I've seen on here. But this is the easiest recipe I've ever found for english toffee. Tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Quick, easy and delicious. I toast a few of the slivered almonds and dust on top of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great, easy recipe for a quick delicious dessert! I do agree with a previous comment that said be sure do make this recipe on a not-so-humid day because it does make a difference. I also added about 6 tablespoons of fresh finely ground flax seeds to the recipe to add some healthy fiber and omega 3's. It didn't affect the taste of the recipe at all (I've made it with and without the flax seeds). Thanks for this lovely recipe! Thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this this morning as a gift for a friend's birthday. It was so good I am going to make some to keep. I followed the recipe but because I use unsalted butter, I added 1/8 tsp kosher salt. I used non-stick aluminum foil to line the pan. It worked perfectly and I recommend it highly. I also topped it with thinly sliced toasted almonds, crumbling them onto the still-warm semisweet chocolate right after spreading it over the candy. It chilled in less than an hour and broke up perfectly. I had no problem with separation during cooking and it was not grainy in the least. I used my 3qt All-Clad saucepan on my smallest burner at med-low heat and stirred only occasionally until the mixture reached 300 degrees. I did not have any problem with texture and the chocolate adhered fine. This is a great recipe and since I always have chocolate chips and nuts in the freezer I can now make candy on short notice. Since I live in a dry climate I imagine that helped me avoid some of the problems others have had and I didn't see any reason to add corn syrup; it came out just great as-is. Thanks, Nora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
makes a 4/5 with the notes mentioned by other reviewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Foppa
Living In: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States