English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very similar to an Amish brittle recipe I've seen on here. But this is the easiest recipe I've ever found for english toffee. Tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Quick, easy and delicious. I toast a few of the slivered almonds and dust on top of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great, easy recipe for a quick delicious dessert! I do agree with a previous comment that said be sure do make this recipe on a not-so-humid day because it does make a difference. I also added about 6 tablespoons of fresh finely ground flax seeds to the recipe to add some healthy fiber and omega 3's. It didn't affect the taste of the recipe at all (I've made it with and without the flax seeds). Thanks for this lovely recipe! Thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this this morning as a gift for a friend's birthday. It was so good I am going to make some to keep. I followed the recipe but because I use unsalted butter, I added 1/8 tsp kosher salt. I used non-stick aluminum foil to line the pan. It worked perfectly and I recommend it highly. I also topped it with thinly sliced toasted almonds, crumbling them onto the still-warm semisweet chocolate right after spreading it over the candy. It chilled in less than an hour and broke up perfectly. I had no problem with separation during cooking and it was not grainy in the least. I used my 3qt All-Clad saucepan on my smallest burner at med-low heat and stirred only occasionally until the mixture reached 300 degrees. I did not have any problem with texture and the chocolate adhered fine. This is a great recipe and since I always have chocolate chips and nuts in the freezer I can now make candy on short notice. Since I live in a dry climate I imagine that helped me avoid some of the problems others have had and I didn't see any reason to add corn syrup; it came out just great as-is. Thanks, Nora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
makes a 4/5 with the notes mentioned by other reviewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobotGymnast
Living In: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
They were awesome. I only had one problem....... When i broke them into pieces all the chocolate fell off the top of the toffee. You had to pick up a chocolate piece and a toffee piece if yo wanted tot had a bite with both flavors. Not a big problem , but I have cooked them twice and the chocolate fell offf both times..Otherwise they are delich......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I followed the suggestions of MommyFromSeattle, and couldn't be happier with the end result. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The key was to find the right heat and stir, stir, stir. On the second try, I found that exactly at medium worked well; It started to smoke a hair and I pulled it off the heat right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCONCANNON
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
One thing I have found to make this even better is to wait for the sugar to reach 300 f, then add the almonds. Also, add a dash, 1/8 tsp or so, of salt to the sugar beforehand. Another way to tell the sugar is all melted, is the point after all of the boiling I have noticed the mixture will look grainy, then start to melt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Quick note on my review, I didn't put the almonds in during the mixing process, in fact I also used walnuts, but I put them on top of the chocolate and pushed them into the chocolate just after the toffee hardened but the chocolate was still warm and accepting of the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States