English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a delicious recipe for English toffee!! This was my first time attempting to make toffee, so I was very nervous about making it. My niece and I tried it, and the first batch burnt. It was because I got nervous because the sugar wasn't melting at first, and I think I turned the fire up too high. Well, after tossing that batch, we tried it again, this time with the fire kept very low,allowing the sugar to melt slowly and stirring every few minutes. We used raw almonds and roasted them in the oven separately. While the sugar was melting, we let the almonds cool. Once they were cool, I rough chopped them. I didn't add the almonds to the toffee until right before I poured it onto the cookie sheet. It turned out wonderful!! I was soooo proud and happy we tried it again. I will definitely be making this treat for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki1152

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsgcnaylor
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I love this recipe, it is simple and I usually have the ingredients around the house already. I have made it with and without out the almonds, you really can't tell the difference. I have also added a pinch of salt to bring out the flavor a little more.This toffee is especially good when dipped in white chocolate. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsgcnaylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We cooked it for longer than stated, though I did double the reciepe. Cooked until it was golden and smelled like toffe, and tested a drop in cold water. Melt in your mouth, easy, I omitted the nuts because of allergy so I literally had all the ingredients without going to the store....gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Second time around for me with this recipe. The first time it separated and I hadn't read the reviews to know there is a remedy for this. drained off the top and the bottom stuff made good toffee. I just finished my second batch. First I calibrated my candy thermometer, it was about 15 degrees low, ok. Took it slow and easy. I started getting concerned when it began to boil, I thought the froth on top was coming over and got another pan ready, not needed. Finally it began to turn color about 225 degrees. Thermometer 15 degrees low? finally about 235 I felt it would be burning if I didn't get it out of there. I had a cup of ice water with me to test it, and it was granulated. Well, I am forging ahead, I may have to try it again. I had to laugh at some of the superstitions, like stirring it only clockwise and only making it in dry humidity. I live in Colorado, 20% is a humid day here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I've made this recipe several times. it is perfect every time. one of the keys is to cook this until it is hard candy. i've been making candy for years from old recipes - some handed down from family. i was taught to test the candy in a cup of cold water. this means when you think the candy is done down a bit of it into cold water. when it is crunchy in the cold water you know it is done for toffee. this IS just at that point where the color of the candy/caramel changes and starts to darken. pull it of NOW. : ) i pour this into a rectangle cake pan lined with parchment paper. then i add whole roasted almonds - a few scattered and pushed in so that they are inside the toffee. : ) then i do put the chocolate chips on top while it is hot. this works perfectly. a few minutes later the chips are melted and i use a spatula to spread the chocolate over all of the toffee. after this i quickly sprinkle chunks and ground up roasted almonds. i put the almonds in the food processor and pulse so there are some big chunks and some small and some crushed. wala!!! perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I gave it one star so it's easy to find help when people have problems making it. It's not greasy! If you are saying your toffee is "greasy" that means it SEPARATED! I have read that when it does that, you can add 1 TABLESPOON of HOT water at a time (no more than 5 of them) until the mixture comes back together. DO NOT make toffee when it is raining or snowing. You will not get crunchy candy. You will get chewy candy that sticks to your teeth. Use BUTTER (not margarine, crisco, etc.). Don't cook it too fast. Goes from done to burnt in a few seconds (as fast as it takes to count 4 mississippis!). Hope that helps. Also, use a deep pot. If you don't, the mix will bubble up and over the pot while cooking. Candy is very tricky, and can still separate for reasons nobody knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As a first time Toffee maker, I was a little nervous however this recipe couldn't have made an easier and more wonderful batch of candy. A couple things I changed per reviews were replacing 2 Tbs of butter with corn syrup to prevent sugar crystallization and I followed the instructions to melt the butter then keep it on the lower side of medium for the rest of the time giving the butter time to incorporate with the sugar. Also, I used Parchment Paper instead of buttering the large cookie sheet which worked perfectly. The only change I'll make next time is a touch of vanilla. I did use a candy thermometer watching it rise to 310 before pulling off the burner which resulted in a perfect crunch with zero burn issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was an easy recipe however, I was dissatisfied with the turnout...had to toss it out..made another batch and it turned out like the 1st batch..was so dissapointed that I had to run back to the store and make something else for the Holidays...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've made this twice, following the exact recipe. Very easy and delicious outcome! The outcome really varied on the length of cooking time. The darker the colour of the mixture, the more crunchy it will be. The first time I made it it wasn't as crunchy, but it was just as delicious! I took it to my tennis lessons and they were a hit. I haven't done them with almonds yet, but when I do, I'm sure that it will be just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States