English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Very good & easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Great Recipe. You must cook it a very long time to gain the appropriate texture, being very careful not to burn. It took a long time for mine to carmalize. If it is grainy in texture it is because it wasn't cooked to the right stage. I keep ice water next to my stove and dribble a bit into it to gauge texture. This is a "watch constantly" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Although the first batch I made had the oil problem noted by other reviewers I tried again and the next several batches came out wonderful. Only thing I did differently was change pans. The batch where the butter never fully incorporated was made in a non-stick pan. When I switched to regular stainless steel it worked great. Don't know if that was the reason or just coincidence but I changed from my old recipe of many years to this one for the rest of my Christmas cooking. Fast, easy and YUM! Can you say teacher gift?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I'm actually quite scared of cooking confectionary because of the hot sugar, but this was very easy to make - I halved the quantity of butter after reading the reviews as I prefer less oil (although seems a bit beside the pont to be counting calories while making toffee!!) and it came out fine. I used a non-stick frypan and just kept cooking until it caramelised (turned brownish - about 12 minutes). I will definately be using this recipe again for christmas pressies and for school sweets-days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
This toffee turns out perfectly everytime! Just be careful not to over-cook it. It's so rich and buttery! I won 1st place with it at our county fair! I used sliced almonds instead of slivered and also added finely chopped almonds to the top of the chocolate. This is now my #1 toffee recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Yes, the butter is right you MUST use a cast IRON skillet and dance little circles around the pan with a WOODEN spoon with big swoops in between!!! It helps to warm the skillet in the oven for a bit, too not too hot though. My family(from England) has made toffee every year for the holidays and I lost the recipe, this is the closest so far. It does take longer than the recipe states mine 30min. of stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
easy and so good. I got so many compliments on it when I included in an assortment Christmas treat bag for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
If you've made this and it didn't turn out, you need to read the review from 12/20/03 LCDOYLE. I did, and it turned out perfectly. Also, when the recipe says bring to a boil, that means to crank the heat up. Don't leave it on Med Low. You'll not get anywhere. Good luck! This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Super easy! I couldn't find my candy thermometer, so I was at a loss knowing the correct temp on cooking the mixture. Once it hit an amber color I poured it onto a jelly roll pan lined with heavy foil and greased. I had no problem with the candy being greasy or removing it. Definitely will be redoing it again next year for holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIC-Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This toffee was DELICIOUS and turned out perfectly. I read all of the reviews and decided to follow the correct measurements of the ingredients: 1 cup butter, 1 1/2 cups white sugar, and 2 TB water. I first melted the butter, then added the sugar and water and stirred continually for 5 minutes. Then, I stopped stirring and lowered the gas heat as low as possible. I cooked it for about 15 minutes, stirring every five minutes or so. Then I added the slivered almonds--I used about 1/2 cup, which I am so glad that I did! I then clipped my candy thermometer to the side and continued to stir about every five minutes. When the thermometer reached 300, the mixture had no changed enough yet the rich caramel color, so I raised the heat just a bit and began stirring continuously. When it reach around 312, the color was perfect and I removed it from the heat. I quickly poured it onto a cookie sheet which I had prepared with foil and cooking spray. While I was spreading the toffee (quickly!) I heated 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips in the microwave for about two minutes, stirring once half way through. I then spread the melted chocolate all over (this worked much better than allowing the toffee to melt the chocolate chips). Then I topped the chocolate with chopped walnuts. This was fantastic, delicious toffee which tasted just like toffee I purchased at a craft fair by the Toffee House. Thank you so much for this great recipe--I am about to go make some more right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States