English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe didn't work for me. Didn't look anything like toffee. Maybe I did it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Excellent! Rave reviews everywhere I took it. It's easy but a little tricky. Be sure to watch for that golden, even dark golden, color. I stopped at 310 degrees. I put walnuts on top instead of the almonds inside. Also I lined the pan with parchment for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe's addition of a little water made all the difference for me in terms of turning into toffee and not a crystallized mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett_B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe is easy to adapt to what you have on hand... I had no almonds so I left them out. I had a couple of Hershey Bars left over from Halloween so I used them instead of chocolate chips. I had Imperial margarine instead of butter. Tasted great to all of us. :>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Can't really rate this...was not difficult to prepare but when breaking apart, the chocolate separated from the toffee...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is an excellent recipe with ONE IMPORTANT exception. You must add a tablespoon of corn syrup. This will keep the sugar from crystalizing and making the toffee grainy. I tried this recipe twice with the same problems as many other reviewers - oily, globby mess. My third try I added the corn syrup and it worked perfectly. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I'm revising my review....I took another person's advice on here and used all the butter and added 3 tbs of water and 3tbs of corn syrup. It was the corn syrup that helped with the grainy texture. Once the sugar was dissolved, I put in my candy thermometer and let it go. DO NOT STIR AT ALL! I let it cook until 290 and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
i was munched out and made this. Splendiforous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I was really hoping for the best when I made this toffee. I followed instructions to a "T". I stirred non-stop until the sugar was golden and nuts were toasted and toffee mixture still turned out very grainy/chewy. Once I spread the chocolate on top, I placed in the fridge overnight to speed up the hardening process. While the toffee did harden, the grainy texture was still there. We had to throw it out. Now maybe there was something I did wrong, but after comparing to other toffee recipes, I think this one may be too sugary and perhaps lacking additional instruction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I followed the directions and wasn't that impressed. The first thing my husband said was, "It looks funny". And it did, I cooked it and checked the temp, but it stayed a very light color, not the deep caramel color we were looking for. It tasted ok, but it did not have the deep buttery taste either. Mabye becuase it was white sugar instead of brown? I won't give it as gifts like I was going to. I will probably send it with hubby to work, they eat anything. I will keep looking for another recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States