English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed the instructions in MommyFromSeattle's review, and it turned out fantastic! I may never have to buy another Heath bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I have never made candy before and this was my first attempt. According to instructions I was supposed to butter a 10x15 pan, which I did. When I poured the candy, it did not fill the whole pan, only about half of it. I didn't try to spread it any thinner. After about a half hour of cooling, i noticed liquid butter all over the pan. I removed the candy which was pretty firm then to a cooling rack and placed the cooling rack in the fridge to finish setting up. About an hour later the chocolate was firm and we broke the candy into pieces and despite the minor mishaps, it tasted excellent! Even my kid's dad who isn't a toffee fan tried it and he actually liked it! I just thought it would make a larger amount based on the size pan called for and didn't expect the pools of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was such a great, easy recipe! It turned out perfectly with just a couple small changes. I only used 3/4 cups of butter, which worked wonderfully. (I think it would've been too greasy if I'd used the full cup) I had a candy thermometer on hand, but just used my intuition. I waited for the mixture to turn that caramel color, and just when it started to smell like it may be starting to burn, I removed it from heat and poured onto my prepared sheet. (My thermometer read 250... so it's good I didn't wait for it to say 300 like the other reviews!) Also, I chopped the almonds and stirred them in the mixture, as well as sprinkling them on top of the chocolate. Lastly, I used chocolate almond bark, and had no trouble with it binding to the toffee. It turned out so well! I can't wait for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I LOVE hard toffee. I used dark chocolate instead of milk. It was perfect but does take a long time to make. It took me a long to get the toffee temperature up to the "hard ball point". I believe around 275F. It was totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Wow, this one was a drag. I tried twice to make this and both times ended up with a mess of a mixture that would not change color or set up the way other candy recipes have. A lot of ingredients and time wasted. Not a summer recipe, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Dissolve the sugar first. Some said half the butter, some said all the butter. I compromised with 3/4. It turned out delicious, but still very buttery. I drained quite a bit of butter off that just didn't mix in . Instead of mixing the nuts in, I sprinkled them on top of the chocolate. I did part walnut, part almond and part no nuts. They were all delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I love toffee but I finely chop pecans instead of the almonds which I sprinkle on top of the chocolate. I use three Hershey's milk chocolate bars in place of the chips. I lay the milk chocolate bars on top of the hot sugar mixture in the jelly roll pan. They melt within a minute and I just spread the chocolate to completely cover the sugar mixture. I immediately generously sprinkle the chopped pecans on top. It tastes just like Butter Nut Crunch which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Freund- Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NANSYPANTS
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Super easy and so delicious. I used pecans and dark chocolate chips, just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahlh
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Everyone raved about this recipe. They could'nt believe it was homemade! I cut the sugar to 1 cup though and it turned out great. I used a candy thermometer and waited until it boiled down and thickened.Iit is vital to let it reach 300 F and to not let it exceed 320 F. Hope it is helpful. Also, once you put the chocolate down, wait a minute until it is softened before spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I was expecting chewy toffee, but this was still delicious! I used 1/2 cup of butter and no almonds or chocolate chips but it made a wonderful birthday present for my friend. I blotted up the excess oil with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States