English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made this with unsalted butter and found the toffee to be a bit bland . I sprinkled kosher salt on top of the chocolate and nuts and it was super yummy. I will be making this again, probably tomorrow.... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyTripletsRock
Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaD
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
ok I just wasted 2 batches of ingredients on this. I made it last year and it came out great! Maybe I used a different pan or something, but I poured off 1/2 cup of butter before pouring the second batch out and the result was still swimming in a lagoon of oil. Oh well, I'll see how it turns out, but I think it's easier to go buy english toffee in the nice candy shop in town next year and save myself the grief, the mess and waste of time and money. Congrats, to those who have succeded, it probably was something I did wrong as I have made this last year and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made it as the directions read, except I added a dash of salt and 1 tsp vanilla after the candy reached 305 degrees (as some reviewers suggested). Really good toffee! Next time I will use chocolate almond bark though as I don't like the flavor of the choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Perfect toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I just made 4 batches of this candy and as a matter of fact I am writing this review while still in my kitchen....this recipe was super easy! I read all the other reviews who tried to complicate this recipe but there really is no reason. The adjustment I made was instead of 2 tbls of water I used 1 tbls of water and 1 tbls of vanilla. It does take a little longer to cook than the recipe suggested on my electric stove top, I made the candy in a non-stick pan and it is raining today and everything came out great! Oh yeah the only other recommendation I would give is to but mini chocolate chips to sprinkle over and melt so they would melt faster and easier or just melt the chocolate and top the candy once it is hard. Great recipe!! Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, just as is. Do not succumb to the temptation to add less butter. That will result in a product that is not as luxuriously delicious as it could have been. The candy is known in England as "butter toffee." In other words, the butter is the star, and real toffee is crammed full of it. That said, I realize there are many reviews here that refer to the buttery, oily ooze that rises to the top of their toffee. The cause of this is, quite simply, that it was cooked at too high a temperature to allow the chemical process to take place sufficiently. By heating the sugar, we develop the structure of our finished product. In order to accomplish this properly, the sugar has to melt slowly so that there's sufficient time for its molecules to combine with those of the butter, resulting in that delicately crunchy, buttery product. Remember that patience is always your friend when making any candy. Sure, I understand that it can become tedious to wait and wait for that temperature rise, but better that than to end up with a low quality product that you're not proud to serve or worse yet, that ends up in the trash. With the cost of groceries now days, that's a minor tragedy. Always cook on low heat and allow the melting process to occur slowly and evenly. The same for the temperature rise. Low and slow - your new mantra. Do this on a nice weather day and follow that one piece of advice, and you'll turn out stuff that will put Heath bars to shame every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Really easy and delicious! I took a test batch to work, and got so many compliments! Definitely going in the Christmas baskets this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I had to make this toffee twice. The first time I made it I followed the instructions to the letter. It tasted burned. I had to throw it out. The second time I used my own judgement with the toffee. I found that I stirred constantly and waited till the candy was actually toffee colored before removing it from the heat, I tested in water for the crack stage. I also added 3T water as well as 3T of white corn syrup as recommended by another person. Came out great. Use you own experience when making this candy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naniflora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
oh my gosh - I just made this for part of our Christmas treats but there's no way it will last in the house till even tomorrow. Delicious - followed the recipe as it is. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was so easy and is probably the best toffee I have eaten. I usually use my candy thermometer to make candy like this, but I just relied on the color and consistency of the mixture. I poured it onto a cookie sheet lined with foil, tossed on the chocolate chips and after a few more almonds, done. It set up perfectly and is not too chewy and not so hard that it breaks your teeth. It is perfect, buttery, toffee. Will use this recipe often, especially during the holidays. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States