English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Zilelabelle
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this last night and everyone who tasted it begged for more. This recipe is a keeper, I made no chages to it and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I am not a sweet tooth, but toffee is a serious weakness. For that reason, I'd always left it to the professionals and bought mine from a bona fide candy maker wanting only the 'good stuff'. Until last week. On a whim, I decided to venture forth and chose this recipe based on ease and reviews--it did not disappoint. Turned out perfectly!! Friends and family loved it as did I. I will be making it again for bake sales and holidays for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberlee Reinking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
First time making toffee. This was easy and turned out great. I didn't have almonds but had pistacios. Used them, chopped in the toffee and on top after I put the white and milk chocolare chips on and spread. See many variations you could do and will next time. I did what the recipe said to do as far as the instructions. Next time I thnk I will try the no stir method as some of the reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe is really easy & very delicious! I used Ritz instead of Saltines. I had a very difficult time getting it off the cookie sheet. I would try greasing it more next time. Delicious, but not very presentable..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Safe to say I butchered this one badly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
unbelievably yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe today for Christmas. Read the reviews and followed the recommendations others made. My batch came out oily, separated from the chocolate when it chilled and I cut it, and had a ton of butter pushed off to the side of the pan. I'm going to try the corn syrup next time and see if that corrects the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe AS IS. I can't stress enough that you use the exact amount of butter the recipe calls for, no less. If you use less, you are ruining the product. The trick is cooking temperature!! Got to stay on top of the temp and using cast iron is a toffee tradition for a reason, because it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly - even while it was raining cats and dogs outside - and it was perfect! I didn't use a non-stick pan because I noticed that even on fudge,that's not a great ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have been making this same recipe for almost 40 years now, but I use Hershey's chocolate bars (it takes about 7 for a long glass casserole dish). The bars melt in seconds, and you just spread the melted milk chocolate to cover the toffee. It is very easy, but you must stir the butter and sugar constantly to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lhisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States