English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
i was munched out and made this. Splendiforous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I was really hoping for the best when I made this toffee. I followed instructions to a "T". I stirred non-stop until the sugar was golden and nuts were toasted and toffee mixture still turned out very grainy/chewy. Once I spread the chocolate on top, I placed in the fridge overnight to speed up the hardening process. While the toffee did harden, the grainy texture was still there. We had to throw it out. Now maybe there was something I did wrong, but after comparing to other toffee recipes, I think this one may be too sugary and perhaps lacking additional instruction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I followed the directions and wasn't that impressed. The first thing my husband said was, "It looks funny". And it did, I cooked it and checked the temp, but it stayed a very light color, not the deep caramel color we were looking for. It tasted ok, but it did not have the deep buttery taste either. Mabye becuase it was white sugar instead of brown? I won't give it as gifts like I was going to. I will probably send it with hubby to work, they eat anything. I will keep looking for another recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious. When I poured it, there was excess butter on the sides, but it's supposed to set that way. I may try one half cup less next time though. This was a HUGE hit with my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This called for way too much butter. I did it twice exactly how it said to do it and each time it separated and was oily on top and then burned it trying to fix it. I tried another recipe with less butter and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Not good at all. Made this for english tea room and ended up not using the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Yummy!!! I love Toffee! Easy good recipe. I started making it a few years ago and I've been making it every Christmas season ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Well, I thought how hard could this be since Im an "expert" in the kitchen...but FYI candy making is pure SCIENCE! I learned that there are many factors to perfecting candies. One of them is the humidity and weather, so Florida might not be the best place to make these. Im guessing that it only took the author about 15 minutes because they were a master candy maker and had made this numerous times, maybe even in a dry climate. Anyways, I needed some toffee bars for these cookies I was going to bake (i will stick to baking from now on) but forgot to buy them. So I thought I would make my own. At first, It was going great... then I turned the heat up to carmelize it faster, and found out quickly that there is no way to speed up candy making, so dont try. That then caused my mixture to separate and all the butter was on top of this really grainy blob of goo. Well, i learned that you can fix that problem by adding a tablespoon of water at a time till it smooths back out. Fine, did that, and it looked much better again but still no toffee. I couldnt get it to the right temp. and after an hour of trying to make it right, I gave up. I do have some yummy grainy caramel taffy type things now though ;) Ill drop a lump or two in my coffee and go to the store to get those toffee bars after all!! I am sure the error lies with me so Ill give this 3 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This toffee was DELICIOUS and turned out perfectly. I read all of the reviews and decided to follow the correct measurements of the ingredients: 1 cup butter, 1 1/2 cups white sugar, and 2 TB water. I first melted the butter, then added the sugar and water and stirred continually for 5 minutes. Then, I stopped stirring and lowered the gas heat as low as possible. I cooked it for about 15 minutes, stirring every five minutes or so. Then I added the slivered almonds--I used about 1/2 cup, which I am so glad that I did! I then clipped my candy thermometer to the side and continued to stir about every five minutes. When the thermometer reached 300, the mixture had no changed enough yet the rich caramel color, so I raised the heat just a bit and began stirring continuously. When it reach around 312, the color was perfect and I removed it from the heat. I quickly poured it onto a cookie sheet which I had prepared with foil and cooking spray. While I was spreading the toffee (quickly!) I heated 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips in the microwave for about two minutes, stirring once half way through. I then spread the melted chocolate all over (this worked much better than allowing the toffee to melt the chocolate chips). Then I topped the chocolate with chopped walnuts. This was fantastic, delicious toffee which tasted just like toffee I purchased at a craft fair by the Toffee House. Thank you so much for this great recipe--I am about to go make some more right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Great toffee. (TIP - Before you make this, make sure it's not raining or too humid outside. Make this on a dry day or else the toffee will be sticky hard and not turn out). I would disregard the review about using only half of the butter. You will need two sticks of butter to make it right. Directions: melt sugar, butter & water to a boil for about 5 min, or until the sugar has completely dissolved. This will help you avoid getting that awful grainy texture after it cools. Stir constantly w/ a wooden spoon during this 5 minutes or until sugar has dissolved. Then remove spoon, reduce heat to medium low and keep at a steady low boil/bubble. Insert candy thermometer and don't stir anymore. If you use a heavy gauge stainless pot and keep it bubbling low it should not burn at all or need stirring. Toffee will need to reach AT LEAST 300 degrees and no more than 310. Take off the heat, add dash of salt and 1 teaspoon vanilla and quickly pour onto a jelly roll pan lined with greased foil or regular parchment paper. Then follow with the rest of the directions. For those who are getting burnt toffee before it reaches 300, your heat is still too high. To make the toffee a little less 'stick-to-your-teeth' - add 3 tablespoons light corn syrup and 3 tablespoons water to the sugar/butter mixture before cooking. Add 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract immediately after you take it off the heat. This will make the toffee more 'melt-in-your-mouth' texture and fail-safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States