English Saffron Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Excellent! The saffromn combined with the cinnamon, nutmeg, and zest is an amazing coombination. (being from Jamaica, we love our nutmeg). The yeastiness, sweeteness, and texture of this bread is the best. You have not lived until you've had this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
incredible bread...wow very impressive, will DEFINITELY make again! Made a very large loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Saffron is used in this recipe. I've made this many times and it's a huge hit where ever I've brought it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This bread was beautiful and yummy. Had to add 2 cups more flour. Don't know if I measured wrong or what but it turned out wonderful. Took the suggestion of making two loaves instead of one large one. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I love this recipe. It has become an Easter tradition in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This bread was huge and hardly fit in my oven, but my guests adored its slightly sweet flavor. The flavors in this bread are subtle, and it is perfect to serve before or even during dinner. My guests loved this so much, they asked to take pieces home with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scott, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I knew what I wanted from this recipe the saffron buns of my childhood so I played with it a little bit. I only used 1 teaspoon of saffron added a cup and a half of dried fruit with the flour and shaped into rolls. Cooked for about 45 minutes. My dad is Cornish throgh and through and hasn't had homemade saffron buns for years he gave this the five stars and went home with six for later. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was my first attempt at breadmaking and it turned out beautiful and delicious. The loaf was quite large so after a few days we used the rest of it for bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My kiuds loved it! I made with our Easter dinner and it was deefinitely enough for everyone. Probably the largest loaf of bread I have ever seen! I was a little too citrusy tasting for me, but I was the only one who felt that way. I followed the instructions to a T and it came out exactly the way it said. So, good recipe, good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbycocking

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter, I used the full amount of saffron, it was difficult to dispose of the saffron threads once I had soaked them, so I did keep about a pinch of them in the dough and I added a few threads to the top of the dough for decoration The bread was amazing. My kids and coworkers loved it! I plan to make this again someday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States