English Saffron Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Searching_for_perfection
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I haven't given this five stars, as I felt the quantity of flour was slightly out (I needed to add in a good deal more than the recipe called for) and it would have been good to know how enormous the 'loaf' would have been, so I could scale down a bit! Having said that, this is a gorgeous bread. I don't agree that it requires less saffron; it's just enough that it can be tasted as a proper ingredient in the cake, but not so much that it overpowers other flavours. The golden colour the saffron imparts to the bread is beautiful also. I added a handful of dried fruit to this recipe, which I think a couple of other people did too, and have found that citrus peel goes especially well with the lemon-zest in the bread mix. It does make an *enormous* loaf, but I'll definitely factor that in when I make this again. The double-proving worked really well and I would recommend that anyone trying this uses very strong white bread flour, as this gives a superb structure to the bread. Fantastic, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searching_for_perfection

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was my first attempt at breadmaking and it turned out beautiful and delicious. The loaf was quite large so after a few days we used the rest of it for bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Very good taste to the bread it made a beautiful loaf but was very large. Next time I will make it into two loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
My one problem was that the dough was too moist, I had to add about 3 cups of flour to get it to knead. I believe this was partly due to intense heat and humidity, but next time I'll be more conservative on the liquid until I see how it comes together. I used 1 tsp saffron, but the flavor and color was not as strong as I would have liked. Also, the bread came out HUGE- about 1.5'x2.5'! The texture is challa-like, and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
a very nice flavor and texture when fresh baked but it dried out very quickly. making very small loaves of this might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASSIVEMO1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I knew what I wanted from this recipe the saffron buns of my childhood so I played with it a little bit. I only used 1 teaspoon of saffron added a cup and a half of dried fruit with the flour and shaped into rolls. Cooked for about 45 minutes. My dad is Cornish throgh and through and hasn't had homemade saffron buns for years he gave this the five stars and went home with six for later. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This bread was huge and hardly fit in my oven, but my guests adored its slightly sweet flavor. The flavors in this bread are subtle, and it is perfect to serve before or even during dinner. My guests loved this so much, they asked to take pieces home with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scott, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Excellent! The saffromn combined with the cinnamon, nutmeg, and zest is an amazing coombination. (being from Jamaica, we love our nutmeg). The yeastiness, sweeteness, and texture of this bread is the best. You have not lived until you've had this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
The aroma of this bread is beautiful. It is a traditional Cornish recipe for a bread/buns baked at Christmas. Cornwall used to grow masses of Crocus for the stamens that are saffron. The more saffron you use, the brighter the colour; howevere saffron - real saffron, not the ghastly powdered food colouring called saffron yellow is EXPENSIVE! I use about 1 teaspoon in my saffron buns. SOme recipes include dried fruit and others are a basic sweetish white bread with saffron added. The recipe would never include safflower in either its seed OR oil form!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
The smell coming from my kitchen when I made this was divine! It was a little sweet but other than that it was exotic, everyone at my work devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elusivek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States