English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I'd never made scones before trying this but was eager to try! I followed recipe exactly and realized it was a smidgen too dry. I added a little more OJ until the mix was moist enough to stick together but not enough to make the dough sticky. They were perfect! I made another batch a week later and was just as pleased with them the second time around :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mylifeworthwhile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
We all loved this recipe. I used the 8 tbsp. of oj and added orange zest. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These scones are delicious! We added around 6 tbsp of butter and close to 8 tbsp of orange juice. They are not overly sweet but still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
These are really good and so easy to make! I also added some dried cranberries that I had had leftover and they tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Yum! LOVE them! I use self-rising flour usually, so I don't add salt or baking powder, and they taste and rise just fine. I increased the butter to 8 T, and didn't have orange juice so I used milk, and they still taste fabulous. My children, who have never liked scones before, now squabble over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenonymous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
LOVE this recipe! I did make 2 changes. I increased the butter to 8 tablespoons. Also, I don't like orange juice so I used cran-strawberry juice instead (1/2 cup). So good! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackjak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Super easy and very tasty without being to dry! I timed myself from the start. It took me 12 minutes to put together get in oven, clean up mess then another 11 to 12 minutes for baking time. Thats it! Oh try and make sure you put in middle of the oven so thay don't over brown and burn your chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Field

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is really easy to make and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is my daughter's favorite recipe from this site! I used the measurements that were given - the only change I made was to use orange juice concentrate and using more of it, enough until moistened, maybe 1/3 of a cup. This really intensifes the orange flavor. Also I use my food processor to blend the dry ingredients with the butter. Great recipe! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was a great recipe! I did not have any OJ so I just used milk (about 3 T) and added dried sweetened cranberries. Between the cranberries and chocolate, I think I would use less sugar next time. Maybe about 3 T (about half as much). I do plan on trying the orange juice soon though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States