English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Easy and delicious! I also found that I needed to add 8 tablespoons of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Baked up beautifully! Wish I had added more butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
They were definitely tasty but I'm giving it only 4 stars b/c it was slightly too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe does not call for enough liquid, I added enough orange juice to suffice. I used orange/mango juice and it was a nice addition to the choc. chips. My family loved these and they are quick and easy to make. We enjoy scones with coffee almost every morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
2 out of 3 of us thought these are ok but nothing special. Hubby won't eat them. They'd probably be better with fruit and nuts- this from a chocoholic! Texture was good, was the taste that wasn't the best. There are better recipes on this site... went with 6 T's OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KungFuJimmyChoo
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I really dislike baking so if I put the effort into it I don't like to be disappointed with the results. I was very pleased with these yummy scones - not too bland, not too sweet. I did add quite a bit more OJ than the recipe calls for so I could get the dough to a consistency that was workable for me, probably about a third of a cup. the orange flavor was still a bit mild for me. next time I'll also add some orange zest or extract. I'm lazy when it comes to baking so I cut into wedges, which I prefer anyway, rather than doing the whole biscuit cutter thing and baked for 14 minutes. Sprinkled the tops with a bit of sugar after taking them out of the oven and they were DEEE-Lish! I was supposed to take them into work the next day, but I didn't want to share. I lied and said I forgot them on the counter then ate the rest when i got home. I hope none of my co-workers read this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KungFuJimmyChoo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Made for Christmas 2010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe and very tasty! I made these when the BF had a friend over. He said "what are scones?" and I told him that they are in between biscuits and cookies. That's very true with this! I added orange zest to the dough. I also cut into triangles- and added enough orange juice to make a dough- as other people. I made a glaze for some of orange juice and powdered sugar. All in all they were very tasty with a nice orange chocolate taste. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I think it could have been more tender. Not sure how that could have been done- but I like a more tender almost fluffy scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great recipe with some modifications. I used 8 Tbsp of butter and quite a bit more orange juice than called for, though just enough to bring it together as a dry dough. I also added about 1 Tbsp of orange zest for flavor. The texture was very flaky and the orange flavor was subtle but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Love these!! I don't change a thing. Though I notice I never get 12 scones out of the batter. More like 8-9. I like to add toffee bits to the mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States