English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
After months of searching and trying many scone recipes, this one is a keeper! It's simple and very tasty. I did have to add quite a bit more orange juice to make the dough easier to work with. Love these scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, the only thing I had to adjust was the amount of orange juice used. When I added just the 3 TB called for, the mixture was too dry. So I added an additional 8 TB and then it was just the right consistency. Wonderful flavor and texture to these scones. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
made these to eat during our "Royal Wedding" party...incredibly yummy...I did add more orange juice than it called for, just because I liked it a little softer and more cakey than the traditional scone, but that slight hint of tanginess of the oj combined with the chocolate chips...YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncsKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
New family fave. My son keeps asking for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
turned out really well. Although I did add 1 egg, 1/4 cup walnuts, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. mine were very cake like, which might have been because of the egg, or not enough cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I substituted brown sugar for white sugar and it turned out amazing. If the mixture is a bit too dry to form into scones I add a splash of milk. Overall a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I didn't read the reviews before I fixed these, so was shocked at how little liquid was added to the flour mixture when I got to that stage. I was low on o.j. so I drizzled in fat-free half and half (approx. 1/4 I would guess). It then made a wonderful dough and the scones came out sweet and delicious. Next time I will have plenty o.j. on hand to make them even better, I'm sure. After this adjustment, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cold Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe!! I didn't have the OJ on hand so I substituted with 3 tbsp vanilla flavoring along my regular coffee creamer to the mixture little by little (equaled about 1/4 cup) till the texture was right. My baking time was longer too..closer to 20+ mins. They came out yum yum delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My family loves this recipe!!! We make it very often. I always double the recipe, use about 3/4 butter and 1 cup of buttermilk, which really makes them moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Of the three types of scones I brought to the Garden Party, these were the highest-rated. Not sure how much was the texture and how much was the chocolate, but people loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States