English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I didn't read the reviews before I fixed these, so was shocked at how little liquid was added to the flour mixture when I got to that stage. I was low on o.j. so I drizzled in fat-free half and half (approx. 1/4 I would guess). It then made a wonderful dough and the scones came out sweet and delicious. Next time I will have plenty o.j. on hand to make them even better, I'm sure. After this adjustment, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cold Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe!! I didn't have the OJ on hand so I substituted with 3 tbsp vanilla flavoring along my regular coffee creamer to the mixture little by little (equaled about 1/4 cup) till the texture was right. My baking time was longer too..closer to 20+ mins. They came out yum yum delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My family loves this recipe!!! We make it very often. I always double the recipe, use about 3/4 butter and 1 cup of buttermilk, which really makes them moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Of the three types of scones I brought to the Garden Party, these were the highest-rated. Not sure how much was the texture and how much was the chocolate, but people loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe! The only thing I did differently is add more orange juice to make them Orange Chocolate Chip scones. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Crew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Super easy and delicious! I too like other reviewers added a lot more orange juice. I did not measure how much more I just made sure it was easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My husband wants me to make it a family staple :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Amazing! I followed the directions exactly and had no problems, although bakers should note that after adding the OJ, you have to use your hands to mix and form the dough. To keep your scones light and flaky, mix quickly and not too much - the heat of your hands melts the butter and makes the dough heavy. The husband and kids ate these up in just two days and have begged for more. I'm not usually a baker, so I was highly impressed this recipe made be look so accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Used lemon juice instead of the orange juice...outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These were delicious! I was expecting more orange flavor, though. Next time I'll add some orange zest, I think. I also sprinkled them with sugar and almonds before baking. I used a pizza cutter to cut them after I patted the dough in a circle to make equal biscuits! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States