English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
New family fave. My son keeps asking for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
turned out really well. Although I did add 1 egg, 1/4 cup walnuts, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. mine were very cake like, which might have been because of the egg, or not enough cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I substituted brown sugar for white sugar and it turned out amazing. If the mixture is a bit too dry to form into scones I add a splash of milk. Overall a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I didn't read the reviews before I fixed these, so was shocked at how little liquid was added to the flour mixture when I got to that stage. I was low on o.j. so I drizzled in fat-free half and half (approx. 1/4 I would guess). It then made a wonderful dough and the scones came out sweet and delicious. Next time I will have plenty o.j. on hand to make them even better, I'm sure. After this adjustment, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cold Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe!! I didn't have the OJ on hand so I substituted with 3 tbsp vanilla flavoring along my regular coffee creamer to the mixture little by little (equaled about 1/4 cup) till the texture was right. My baking time was longer too..closer to 20+ mins. They came out yum yum delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My family loves this recipe!!! We make it very often. I always double the recipe, use about 3/4 butter and 1 cup of buttermilk, which really makes them moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Of the three types of scones I brought to the Garden Party, these were the highest-rated. Not sure how much was the texture and how much was the chocolate, but people loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe! The only thing I did differently is add more orange juice to make them Orange Chocolate Chip scones. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Crew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Super easy and delicious! I too like other reviewers added a lot more orange juice. I did not measure how much more I just made sure it was easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My husband wants me to make it a family staple :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States