English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Loved these and I took someone else's advice and used 8TBS of butter and 8 TBS of orange juice as well as the zest of half an orange - so worth it! YUM. I'm gonna have a hard time not eating the whole batch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Have made these several times. I use a food processor to mix the dry ingredients, then add the cold butter cubes till they are like small peas. (I always need to use a stick of butter and about 6 tbs of OJ). I add the chips at this point then transfer the mix to a big metal bowl where I add the OJ and stir with a fork until it comes together. I knead by hand a little until it all comes together. I use a small ice cream scoop and put them on parchment lined baking sheet. I pat them down a little with moist hands and sprinkle sanding sugar on top. Bake till golden. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Awesome! I added up to 8 T of orange juice as suggested and 1 extra T. of butter also. Actually stick margarine is what I used. Will def. make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
After months of searching and trying many scone recipes, this one is a keeper! It's simple and very tasty. I did have to add quite a bit more orange juice to make the dough easier to work with. Love these scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, the only thing I had to adjust was the amount of orange juice used. When I added just the 3 TB called for, the mixture was too dry. So I added an additional 8 TB and then it was just the right consistency. Wonderful flavor and texture to these scones. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
made these to eat during our "Royal Wedding" party...incredibly yummy...I did add more orange juice than it called for, just because I liked it a little softer and more cakey than the traditional scone, but that slight hint of tanginess of the oj combined with the chocolate chips...YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncsKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
New family fave. My son keeps asking for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
turned out really well. Although I did add 1 egg, 1/4 cup walnuts, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. mine were very cake like, which might have been because of the egg, or not enough cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I substituted brown sugar for white sugar and it turned out amazing. If the mixture is a bit too dry to form into scones I add a splash of milk. Overall a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I didn't read the reviews before I fixed these, so was shocked at how little liquid was added to the flour mixture when I got to that stage. I was low on o.j. so I drizzled in fat-free half and half (approx. 1/4 I would guess). It then made a wonderful dough and the scones came out sweet and delicious. Next time I will have plenty o.j. on hand to make them even better, I'm sure. After this adjustment, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cold Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States