English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great combination of orange and chocolate, however this recipe needs much more liquid and more butter. After following the recipe and adding the orange juice, I did not have a dough but a pile of dry ingredients with a few coarse looking crumbs. I ended up having to add more orange juice, more butter, and also a tablespoon of heavy cream to make it resemble a normal scone dough. I would not suggest using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Its okay. But good. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These scones were delicious but for one reason: I have baking experience and didn't follow the recipe exactly. I had to double (at least) the amount of orange juice. I later read the reviews, and so did everyone else. Many made other adjustments too, such as adding more butter too, but I feel they were fine with about double the oj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
The scones would have been 4 stars after fixing the recipe, but I, too, had to increase the orange juice to 1/2 cup (or 8 tbs.). There is NO way this would have worked with the crumbs I had at 3 tbs. of orange juice, which knocks the recipe down another star. After this correction, the scones were pretty tasty, but the texture wasn't your traditional scone texture, which isn't surprising considering the liquid is orange juice instead of buttermilk or cream. They were good enough to make 2 batches, but overall not my favorite scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Loved these scones. So simple to make and no off beat ingredients. Did use 6TBSP of O.J. instead of three and 8 TBSP of butter instead of five. Still looked a little dry but did hold together and were not dry in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I did like it very much. My hubby and son thought they were perfectly sweet with a great texture. HOWEVER - I did do a few things sorta differently due to ingredients and prior scone making experience - 8Tbspn of butter (if salted, reduce the salt in recipe by 1/2) cut into pea size chunks and 'pinched' into the flour mixture by hand. Then I used semi sweet chocolate chopped coarsely instead of chips and used 4Tbspn of OJ AND 3 TBspn of 1/2 & 1/2 or heavy cream. Made a large round circle and cut into triangles and separated before baking. YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is a horrible recipe. The liquid measure is way too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I altered this recipe based on the suggestions of a former reviewer, Trina, as she had given this recipe a 5-star rating. She suggested increasing the butter to 8 TBSP., OJ to 8 TBSP., and included the zest of half an orange. It was awesome. I enjoy the orange scones from Panera. This recipe is wonderful and almost identical to Panera's if you leave out the chocolate chips and make the changes I have included. I also created an orange glaze for the scones. This scone recipe is a great base for variations of flavors. One of the best recipes I have accessed from the Internet and was not disappointed in the least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheChe
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great Scones! Like most of the reviews mention, I did have to double the OJ. I also added orange zest and 1 table spoon of cointreau (keeping with orange theme).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I love these, they have been coming out great every time. I am still working on perfecting them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States