English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So yummy. Since I'm gluten intolerant, made these with gluten free flour mix, added some spices, and like others increased butter & OJ (plus a tiny bit of almond milk). Turned out wonderfully, finally, baked goods I can eat! Had them with butter, strawberry jam and coffee for my Sunday breakfast. Will be my go-to recipe since you can change the recipe up so easily - hmm maple walnut, chocolate cherry, cranberry orange, lemon almond, too many choices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used extra butter and orange juice like other reviewers suggested. Used ghiradelli milk chocolate chips and chopped them up and of course used more. Turned out super moist. Was worried they would be too orange tasting but they weren't at all. Next time I may add a little milk instead of more oj. Great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have always wanted to make scones but felt intimidated. This recipe seemed so easy so I gave it a try. It was easy and yummy too. I only got 9 scones out of the recipe, not sure why, and I ended up using the juice of 2 oranges. Next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My kids favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lancelynx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I am not sure IF and what my son did wrong with the recipe, but I ended up adding another tbsp. of butter and an extra tbsp. of milk (we used milk instead of OJ). I absolutely loved the scones. I really look forward to trying it with some cranberries and white chocolate chips OR even adding pecans to this recipe. Also, I used a small Pampered Chef rolling pin and pressed the dough into a 9x9 glass dish. I cut it into quarters, then cut three triangles into each quarter. I took the triangles out and placed them on a greased cookie sheet. It was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great combination of orange and chocolate, however this recipe needs much more liquid and more butter. After following the recipe and adding the orange juice, I did not have a dough but a pile of dry ingredients with a few coarse looking crumbs. I ended up having to add more orange juice, more butter, and also a tablespoon of heavy cream to make it resemble a normal scone dough. I would not suggest using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Its okay. But good. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These scones were delicious but for one reason: I have baking experience and didn't follow the recipe exactly. I had to double (at least) the amount of orange juice. I later read the reviews, and so did everyone else. Many made other adjustments too, such as adding more butter too, but I feel they were fine with about double the oj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
The scones would have been 4 stars after fixing the recipe, but I, too, had to increase the orange juice to 1/2 cup (or 8 tbs.). There is NO way this would have worked with the crumbs I had at 3 tbs. of orange juice, which knocks the recipe down another star. After this correction, the scones were pretty tasty, but the texture wasn't your traditional scone texture, which isn't surprising considering the liquid is orange juice instead of buttermilk or cream. They were good enough to make 2 batches, but overall not my favorite scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Loved these scones. So simple to make and no off beat ingredients. Did use 6TBSP of O.J. instead of three and 8 TBSP of butter instead of five. Still looked a little dry but did hold together and were not dry in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States