English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
All cooks are jazz musicians or, if you prefer, experimental chemists; they get a good recipe and start improvising. I love this recipe. It works well with the orange juice but also I've used fat-free half and half (almost a half cup, I think) for the liquid. The basic recipe gives you a good scone to which I have added raisins, chips and nuts- all wonderful. I mix the dough with my hands (after it's been moistened enough) and just put rounded blobs of the dough on the cookie sheet. I usually sift all ingredients when I cook but NOT for scones or muffins- one wants the rough quality for them. They bake up very well. Outside they are slightly hard and a bit crispy, inside, dense and fluffy (really, they're both.) Very good recipe. Thank you so much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ann Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The whole family gobbled these up with butter for breakfast. This is my new favorite scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I did change a few things. I used 1 stick margarine, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, and 5 tablespoons orange juice, and used the bigger chocolate chips. It turned out lovely. New breakfast item in our house. My son had to make scones for his culture project on Ireland. He loved them so much, he came home and and made another batch so he could have some for snack and breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
These were delicious. I never made scones before but had a craving for them! (Don't ask.) I didn't have any orange juice so I juiced an orange and used that. Had to add a bit more water to make it work and then had to bake them about 10 minutes longer. Was that because I added too much water? Also, I made these in the food processor which was amazingly easy. DELICIOUS. I rolled in a circle and scored in 8 pieces. They look like a bakery product and...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Kovach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were just ok for my husband and I. I did use lemon curd on them and loved it. Added 8 T of butter and oj, but was still very dry and as a result I over mixed, making scones a bit tough. Not the best scone I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Not again. I also had to adjust the recipe and what I got turned out more like a muffin. Sorry, I like them to work as written and as written I had a bowl of flour that just would not hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Orange juice makes this taste great! Not floury tasting like some scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I went to a restaurant with my daughter and had scones and we loved them, so we decided to try to make them. This recipe tasted even better than the ones at the restaurant! My only suggestion to whoever makes this, is to add cinnamon for an even better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were very good. I added the extra butter and OJ that other people suggested. I think I probably added too much OJ because they ended up more like cookies than scones. I also used an almond and toffee chocolate bar, chopped into chunks. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My friends and I really enjoyed these scones! I added an extra 3T of butter to get the mixture more crumbly (and because I prefer to use the whole stick). I only had 2T left of orange juice, so I used an extra 2T of milk and they were perfect. The dough should seem a little dry- after all, they're scones. The recipe did make 12 scones, but they were pretty small. Were fantastic with some raspberry preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States