English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Super easy and very tasty without being to dry! I timed myself from the start. It took me 12 minutes to put together get in oven, clean up mess then another 11 to 12 minutes for baking time. Thats it! Oh try and make sure you put in middle of the oven so thay don't over brown and burn your chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Field

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is really easy to make and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is my daughter's favorite recipe from this site! I used the measurements that were given - the only change I made was to use orange juice concentrate and using more of it, enough until moistened, maybe 1/3 of a cup. This really intensifes the orange flavor. Also I use my food processor to blend the dry ingredients with the butter. Great recipe! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was a great recipe! I did not have any OJ so I just used milk (about 3 T) and added dried sweetened cranberries. Between the cranberries and chocolate, I think I would use less sugar next time. Maybe about 3 T (about half as much). I do plan on trying the orange juice soon though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These were AMAZING!!! I had my doubts, due to the simplicity of the ingredients, but the scones came out wonderfully! I used a whole stick of butter and 10 tbsp orange juice mixed with 1tbsp vanilla and the scones came out with a great vanillia, gently sweet taste. You can't really taste the OJ, but you can taste the delicate citrus sweetness. All in all, an easy, amazing, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
needs a LOT more OJ than 3 T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These are very yummy! Like many others have stated you need to increase the amount of orange juice. I used 7-8 tablespoons. Also, I increased the butter to 7 T. I can't wait to try them with dried cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I have made this recipe many times over the past 5 years. I've tried a lot of other scone recipes, but we always keep coming back to this one, it is definitely the family favorite. I've noticed that sometimes I need to add a little extra orange juice, depending on the humidity. Thank you so much for the recipe, it is a lovely treat for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I used a whole stick of butter (8 tbs) which helped tremendously. Also, I didn't have OJ in the house, so I used V8 Fusion Tropical Orange Juice. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. I flattened the dough out into a square, 1/2 inch thick, and cut it with a pastry scraper into 12 little squares. Turned out yummy! The only reason why I gave it 4 instead of 5 is not based on taste- its because I like my scones with some volume, while these were pretty flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenHCampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Great scones! I add an extra 5 Tb. of juice (for a total of 8), 3 extra Tb. of butter (for a total of a whole stick of butter), and have used multiple kinds of chips, though chocolate definitely works best. The chocolate chips can be big or small, it really doesn't matter, I used chunks in them this morning and they were fabulous! Also, if you don't have orange juice on hand, I have substituted grapefruit juice with no problems, and no change to the taste of the recipe. Oh, and I don't roll the dough, I just make a nice circle about 6" diameter, and then cut it into 8 pieces, like a pizza. Bakes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States