English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Wanted a chocolate chip scone. Don't like the orange, so used buttermilk for the liquid. Kept adding until it was a dough that could be cut out. Nice sweetness. I think I would cut small triangles instead of rounds. More scone-like, less biscuit-like. The mini chips are perfect. I would make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I am so pleased how these turned out! I never knew how easy it is to make scones. I used 8 TB OJ, a few tablespoons less sugar, extra chocolate chips, dash of cinnamon and dash of nutmeg. I didn't need to use extra butter, the dough was crumbly enough with the amount stated in recipe. I can't wait to try this recipe with blueberries next! Try it, you will not regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Easy! Used a bit more o.j. Like other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave Shapiro
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I doubled the orange and put 1/3 cup of both cranberries and chocolate chips. Otherwise the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Shapiro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I like this recipe. It is simple with few ingredients. It comes out tasty. I pretty much follow the recipe as it is and maybe add just a bit more OJ, but I do like my scones crumbly so I try not to over moisten it. It does help if you use your hands to mix the dough then you wind up needing less OJ or Butter. I gave it four stars because it is not the absolute best tasting scone I've ever had, just above average. However, the easy of making it makes it a good recipe for me and you can also add other ingredients if you like such as chopped nuts or fruit. I also do not go through the whole rolling the dough and the cookie cutter. I just pat them down on the backing sheet into relatively the same size and thickness as described in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RichM
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was really a fun, easy recipe for me to use. That being said, I recommend using more orange juice than the recommended amount. Everything else seemed to fall into place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donita Curnutt
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Halved the recipe, substituted dried apricots for chocolate chips. Took others advice and added orange zest and additional orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donita Curnutt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariana
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
As suggested I used 8 tbsp of butter and about 8 tbsp of orange juice. instead of chocolate chips I used milk chocolate bar that I cut into small squares and also fresh squeezed my orange juice. I also grated my butter and left in the freezer while prepping the rest of the recipe. Oh my! It was the best scone I have ever had! Who knew scones could be even more amazing then the ones I usually get at bakeries.. My husband didin't like scones just till now! He loved it!It was flaky and crispy on the outside and warm and fluffy inside!! The orange juice really did add a magical flavor. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
SO GOOD! The dough seemed a little dry so I added a splash of lemon juice. We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
When I made the modifications suggested above (i.e., used 8 ounces of juice and 8 ounces of butter), the batter/dough become a bit too moist to handle. My trusty muffin pan saved the day. I put the dough into cupcake liners and baked it for about 16 minutes. The flavor and texture was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States