English Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I just made this for dinner...it was delicious! I didn't add the mint because I didn't have any & I cut the cooking time as my roast was smaller. The gravy has to be the best I've ever tasted and I cook for a living! I think the gravy thinned down would make a fantastic vegetable beef soup! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
The roast turned out wonderfully! I didn't have mint so I just left it out. I did use the garlic though. It came out beautifully tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Pleased even the most discerning English husband (you guessed it, mine)! Don't use all the water, then realize you could add wine, then add that too. I did, and it turned out too much liquid to make the gravy properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
It was good...not as tender as I had hoped. I would only do it for 2 hours next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We did not care for this at all. We had a 5.4 pound round roast and set it for 2 hours, as the recipe said that would make a rare roast. I pulled it out to check it 20 minutes prior to the timer going off, and it was already medium and on it's way to medium well. Perhaps because I had no Dutch Oven? Had to use a roaster after I seared it on the stove top. But the roast was very bland, the flavors didn't really seep into it at all. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
HOLY MOSES! This is one good roast! I was totally freaked by the thought of mint in my meat, but man oh man is it nice. I followed the recipe to a 'T'. My husband even took some to work and he said it smelled so good, that a coworker asked if he was going to eat it all, and if not could he have it! MMmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Loved this! Don't have a Dutch oven, so improvised. I used a regular pot to brown the meat, and then transferred the meat to a glass baking dish and tightly wrapped the dish with foil so that no liquid would evaporate. Worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
A grreat flavor and enjoyable meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Ehh. Unimpressed. The mint was weird, but the drippings made tasty gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very good recipe. Liked the mint and sage. The gravy was good, but I needed to add cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. It made the meat juicy and tender. The only thing was that I kept trying to add salt and the flavor would just not take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States