English Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
wow…you nailed it!! Just exactly like my mom made it:) ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
We all thoroughly enjoyed this recipe! Even my 7-yr old, who doesn't usually want seconds on meat, asked for more!! We made ours in the crock pot; combined the ingredients and set it on low all day. The mint really works here and even though the meat looked dry when we sliced it, it wasn't dry at all!! I served over a bed of mashed potatoes and made gravy with beef broth instead of water, for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Excellent flavor, tender, restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
excellent! easy and extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Just wonderful. Only added another half cup of water to stretch the gravy. We had these with summer squash puffs(recipe on this sight) and some brown rice. The entire family wants this for dinner again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I always use the beef gravy in soup, no matter how it is made, escpecially in Beef Barley soup adds that extra bit of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This sounds really good & reading the reviews looks like everyone enjoys it. I only have one question- does this turn out like the Roast Beef you would get from a Deli? Nice & Med Rare in the center. Thanks, Gutpyle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoeTheBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Substituted beef broth for the water and used a rump roast because that's what I had on hand. The flavor was great, the gravy was delicious, but the meat turned out a little dry. Will make this again, but probably with more braising liquid and a little less time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I just made this for dinner...it was delicious! I didn't add the mint because I didn't have any & I cut the cooking time as my roast was smaller. The gravy has to be the best I've ever tasted and I cook for a living! I think the gravy thinned down would make a fantastic vegetable beef soup! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States