English Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this cake, And added dried cherries, Turned out great! Thanks:-]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
very good cake - I used vanilla flavored greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of the the other extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This cake was surprisingly delicious! I wasn't sure about the 3 flavors together, but it was wonderful. Very moist, but still had the denseness that a pound cake should. Needed the full 70 minutes baking time, which was perfect. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is a wonderful pound cake....thank you. If some people feel there isn't enough flavoring you can up the vanilla (only pure vanilla please). It is also keeps for days thanks to the butter and can be used in many different ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This pound cake recipe is a classic and because of that, it's common. It's the standard, really, for pound cakes - 3 c. each sugar and flour, a cup of butter, 6 eggs, 1/4 tsp. each of baking soda and salt, 8 ozs. of sour cream or cream cheese and flavoring, usually vanilla. Make enough of them and you’ll have this recipe down pat. So as a tried and true recipe there was no question it was a good one - and of course it was. It's moist, buttery rich, with a compact and tender crumb. This recipe differs from the classic in that, like some other pound cake variations, it uses different flavorings. But it also deviates from the conventional and preferred creaming and mixing technique, which I chose to adhere to: cream the butter and sugar till light and fluffy, a good few minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add in the flavoring. Add the flour alternately with the sour cream, in thirds, beginning and ending with the flour. That method, unless you OVERBEAT the batter or bake the cake too long, all but guarantees a perfect result. I have to say the three flavors of extract didn't move me, although it seemed to be a good fit for the "Funfetti Cake" I made by adding 1/3 c. of colored sprinkles to the batter. In this cake it was a good fit, but I prefer a simple, vanilla-flavored pound cake by adding 1 T. of vanilla. Still, the basic recipe is the modern-day standard by which any variations come from, so it can be prepared confidently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe was just okay for me. I was looking for a dense and moist cake. I found this to be dense, but dry. I ended up poking holes all over the cake and pouring a glaze over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Everyone LOVES this pound cake when I make it. I think I've made it 50 times in the last 4 years. It's all my brother in law wants for Christmas every year. Hints: Make sure your ingredients are room temperature when you begin--the secret to all great pound cakes. Beat each egg 60 seconds when you add it. I decrease the cook time by 10-12 minutes--we like it a little gooey at the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pierced8x

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This cake is wonderful. It's a nice change from your normal, vanilla pound cake. The different extracts really add a flavor twist! Kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
great! very easy and not too sweet. I think you could try alot of different tings with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Good cake. Much too sweet though, I would recommend using a little less sugar. The flavor is pretty casual, so serve the cake with something else, like ice cream or strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States